1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

mixing different brands of Thermalpaste

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dieselcat18, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    I'm up grading my C2D E8500 with a Q9550 and wasn't sure if mixing different brands of thermalpaste on my CPU and Cpu heatsink would cause problems.
    I have just a touch left of AS-5 and a little bit of some Zalman paste (used it before, seems to work well) that came with the cooler. But I do have a small tube of Zerotherm compound that is full. I'm not sure the quality of this paste compared to the other two.
    I may have just enough between the AS-5 and Zalman to cover it by mixing them together.

    Any suggestions ?..........Thxxx

    *+
     
  2. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    check the temps before and after and let us know. Who knows you may invent the next big thing...
    (just remember more isant better so dont go crazy with the amount)
     
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    It'd be interesting to see the results.
     
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Try it, and if you come up with something that cools better then regular, let us know.

    Then you can market it and i get 10%.:D
     
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  5. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Right...just a thin coat does it...

    LOL....Thxxx guys...I'll give it a whirl and post some temps when finished later on....
    But does anyone know the quality of that ZEROtherm paste as opposed to the AS-5 & Zalman. I know those work well, just curious about the ZEROthermal compound....

    *+
     
  6. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  7. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Well...I now have the new cpu installed and everything reassembled. It looks like I did have more than enough AS-5 paste to do the cpu and heatsink, so I won't be able to give you guys a current update on the mixing of this stuff....but when I first built this last year, I did mix a tiny bit of the Artic Silver and the Zalman thermalpaste together and I believe my cpu temp were running in the 29-32C range.

    I do have one other question though...that link above has great info in it and I read the Intel instructions on how to apply thermalpaste (grease) to a Quad.
    It said to only spread a thin line horizontal across the center of the chip.... and to (NOT) spread it out. They said once installed with the heatsink and running that the grease would then spread out and form an oval pancake shape over the cpu heatsink. They gave similar instructions for a Duel Core chip.
    So I followed their directions and hope it doesn't screw things up.
    When I first installed my E8500, I put just a few drops in the center and then used a credit card to spread it out to cover the entire surface of the chip (above temps have been solid for a year)......I hope their method works.
    Gonna hook everything back up now and see......

    Thxxx for all the good info guys..........:)

    *+
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    You're supposed to totally clear the cpu and heatsink of paste... use rubbing alcohol, the higher the percentage the better
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    my 2 cents

    why risk it?

    they may have different chemicals in them that turn caustic when mixed and it has a chance that such a reaction could damage and pit the surfaces, also even without a bad reaction, from being mixed they may break down and stop working properly.

    do you really want to take chances with a new cpu for the cost of a tube of paste?

    i would only try mixing different brand thermal paste if it was on an old system you didnt care about
     
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  10. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Already done...that's a given......Thxxxx

    I agree...that's why I posted here first before attempting that....as it turned out, I did have more than enough AS-5 thermal grease to take care of both the heatsink and cpu....
    My concern now was the application method that Intel recommends when applying the thremal grease...seemed a bit strange to apply it but not spread it out like I have in the past........

    *+
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    misread... thought you said you left just a touch of paste on the heatsink

    I'm very tired
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    well myself i ignore what they say because i dont "trust" that you will get full even coverage, i always put a very thin coat to both surfaces and it does have a little ooze out but that way im always sure i have good coverage for heat conduction.
     
  13. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    LOL....same here...been on vacation this past week and have to get mentally prepared to go back to work tomorrow.....Thxxx for the reminder about the paste....;)

    *+
     
  14. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    I do agree with you keakar....although I did follow Intel's instructions this time (mistake ?)....
    Just booted up my system and will run temp checks in Bios and CPU-Z...if it's messed up then I'll just have to tear it down and do it over again....which will be a lesson learned...

    If anyone is interested if that application suggested by Intel works...I'll post back...

    Thxx for everyones input.....:toast:

    *+*+
     
  15. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    thats a very bad way of doing it,

    Besides the possible shorting out of the unit it allows small air pockets in the thick layer of the TIM.
    And other than no company would recommend applying it that way (and they would "DEFINATELY" say slap it on as thick as possible (to sell more product) but they dont))
     
  16. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Not sure what you mean...are you referring to keskar's application suggestion, or are you referring to Intel's directions ?

    I've had my system back up and running for almost two hours now and temps in the BIOS are holding at...system- 34c and CPU-30-31c.
    First 20 Min's or so after I started it up temps rose to around 39c for system and 34-35c for the CPU, but have since settled back down a bit.
    So maybe the application instructions given by Intel are OK...I'll see how things are over the next couple of days and the fact that the Arctic Silver 5 will take approx 200 hrs with intermittent shut offs to completely cure.

    *+
     
  17. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    keakar's advice is flawed

    follow the directions from the mfg if you are in doubt. Each TIM is different and has different properties.

    Some TIMs conduct electricity and if slopped on will cause an electrical short.
     
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  18. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Like I said earlier in a previous post...I had in fact followed the mfg's application instructions for the thermal grease. And I was unsure how well it would work doing it that way, considering that the last time I applied it on my previous cpu install, it worked well for over a year keeping temps very cool.
    All the how to forums and on-line sites giving info on how to build a PC that I researched, prior to this build, also suggested applying a small drop and then using a credit card to evenly spread it.
    That's why I had some doubt on how well Intel's instructions ( paste not covering the entire surface of the CPU) would work.
    But thxxx for your input...it's appricated...:)

    *+
     
  19. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I always use the intel method, and always clean both the HS and CPU with alcohol before applying new thermal paste! Like MKMods said, if air gets into the thermal paste then say goodbye to your low temps.
    Also, your CPU cooler should be putting enough pressure on the CPU so that the paste spreads out to give proper contact. I've noticed whenever I've removed my HS that the entire CPU (except for the corners) is covered.

    Just to give you an idea of the dangers of air; I had to reseat my heatsink after a day, because under load it was hitting 60C. I saw that there had obviously been some air in the TIM mix (fucking intel pushpins :mad: ) and when I reseated the HS my temps went down to high 30s under load.
     
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  20. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Thxx for the tips Error....I did everything according to the Intel instructions (I also put a very thin coating of paste on the Zalman heatsink)...
    System has been up and running for at least 4 hrs now and BIOS reading for temps are staying at 34c-system and 30c-CPU
     
  21. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Thats the one thing you're not meant to do. Air can get trapped between the layers of thermal paste much more easily than if it was just a single blob being spread. There's no need either, since the thermal paste will spread! Remember, TIM is only meant for getting rid of air pockets, not for transferring most of the heat. ;)
     
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  22. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    So what your saying is that one strip of thermal grease will spread out across the cpu and form a bond between both the cpu and heatsink (without adding any additional thermal grease to the heatsink) and by doing so will also aid in helping to eliminate any air pockets that might form due to excessive thermal grease if applied to both the cpu and heatsink ?

    I think I get it now.... the air pockets are what can cause uneven heat transfer making the cpu surface become pitted and scared, which can then cause serious damage to the cpu ?

    *+
     
  23. denice25 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    316 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    better check the temps...
     
  24. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Depending on room temp....PC running for past 8+ hrs since install...Sys. temp 34-37c...CPU temp 29-32c from BIOS readings.
    I'll just have to keep an eye on these readings for next few days and hope they stay about where they are now...hoping when the AS-5 cures, the temps will go down a bit more.

    *+
     
  25. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It's not like anything will break. It's very unlikely that there will be some aggressive reaction and if they stop working properly and the CPU overheats your system just shuts down. I've mixed different types before, nothing ever went wrong. Wouldn't know about performance as I don't give a crap about a 2C difference, I don't bother checking such things. If it doesn't overheat I don't care.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page