1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mixing RAM

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by beesagtig, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Hey

    First time posting

    I was wondering if I could mix 4 gigs of OCZ 1066 platinum (OCZ-2P10664GK) with 2 gigs of OCZ 1066 Sli Certified (OCZ-2N1066SR2GK).

    Also if I can will it affect the performance at all.

    I have a evga 780i (132-CK-NF78-A1) mobo

    Thanks Beesagtig
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,382 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK

    Welcome to TPU.....may you have a long and rewarding stay!

    You probably could, memory controllers these days are a lot less picky with memory for dual channel compatibility but unless you have an X58 board (triple channel)you will not be running in dual channel if you are populating 3 of the 4 slots (assuming you are talking 2GB sticks of course), operating in single channel will be a serious slowdown in performance and will negate the benefits of the extra 2GB, so in my opinion......forget it!
    beesagtig says thanks.
  3. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Thanks

    At the moment i've got two sticks of 1gb each of the sli certified version and intend to get two 2gig sticks of the platinum so it will still be dual channel i think.

    worth it?
  4. red268

    red268 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    452 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    UK
    I assume you're running a 64bit OS?

    Just checking!
  5. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Sure am :)
  6. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    having the four sticks it will run in dual channel so i would say it is definately worth it(only if you have 64bit OS)
    beesagtig says thanks.
  7. Jeff574 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. red268

    red268 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    452 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    UK
    Sounds ok to me. Try it and see, and, if it doesn't give any significant gain, or shows a loss in performance, then just use the newer 4gig set and sell the old 2gig set. :D
    beesagtig says thanks.
  9. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Cool

    Thanks for your help guys.

    Will go for it :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page