1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MKV w/ Hardware acceleration in Windows 7 Media Center

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ShRoOmAlIsTiC, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    Is there a guide out there that for making mkv's work with hardware acceleration in windows 7 media center? Ive tried everything i can find in google. I can get movies to play sometimes but never with dxva support.
     
  2. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    MKV is a container so as far as I know it depends on how the codecs are inside that determine hardware acceleration (if any). I know Mussels and Wile E are pretty knowledgeable on the subject so they'd be the guys to talk to.

    Edit: I haven't had the time to try this out (I'm lucky enough if I can get around to just watching a movie in the first place), so I'm wondering what the verdict is with this as well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  3. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Mussels had a how to get DXVA to work in Vista..Honestly i dont use it i had problems with it and MKVs do to diff types of Rips ie (H.264 x264 MPEG4). I use Media Player 64bit, Haali Splitter 64 bit, the latest ffdshow 64bit build and AC3filter 64bit on my windows 7 machine.
     
  4. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    I myself use mpc-home cinema and it works fine for me. I built a htpc for my mother in law and would like for her to be able to use my blu-ray rips I made for em. Alot of people seem to like media center but Ive never really liked just for this reason. It would be handy for the family though cause I got them a MCE remote to use and its pretty worthless so far.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page