1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mobile browser w/ flash support

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Champ, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    929 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I'm looking for a browser that supports flash. I've only read about one and that was a bit dated. What's the latest now that does a decent
    job?
     
  2. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Are you going to tell us what kind of mobile device and operating system we are talking about here or should we just make that up?
     
    digibucc and Red_Machine say thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    opera mini uses flash.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    929 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    sorry about that. I have the optimus v. I've heard mixed things. Some say the hardware can't support flash until u mod it. At the amdroid forum, someone said they talked to VM support and they said it could. I'm thinking its a software thing
     
  5. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    What version of Android? 2.1? 2.2? 2.3?
     
  6. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,937 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    dolphin supports flash. install the flash player plugin from market and i believe the native browser app supports it too.
     
  7. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    929 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    2.2 my head isn't on straight
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Then you should be flash ready.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Riotpump

    Riotpump New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yeah pretty much all the big named ones support flash. Stock 2.2+ or higher, and at least a ARM v6 cpu phone. If you are running 2.2(Froyo) you should be fine.
     
  10. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    929 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I didn't want to mod my phone just yet, because I plan to get a better one eventually. That sound like the best bet to get it working thou
     
  11. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,092 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    why you need flash on browser? its just eating your bandwidth and money.
     
  12. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    929 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I have unlimited all but I think its capped at 2.5 gbs. I cant get things like espn vids and whatnot to play. Different vids from different sites just don't play
     
  13. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,092 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    mobile browser has limited flexibility, not like desktop version.
    i guess its from your browser, or your phone.
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    champ>

    Goto settings then about and it should tell you the version you are running
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,937 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    if any vids from any sites play, flash works. after that i'd say first look to the site as it's common that the embed will not be done properly.
     
  16. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Somewhere Steve Jobs is smirking.
     
  18. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,829 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,585
    Bye flash, don't slam the door when you leave lol
     
  19. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    929 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I guess he saw this coming?
     
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,961 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,803
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Windows Phone 7.5 plays YouTube videos fine. Ironically, it doesn't work as I tried to play the same video on my computer (Mobile IE9 versus IE9).

    Eh...scratch that. Further, that link says that even Windows 8 Internet Explorer won't support Flash either. It would seem that Flash is dying and not just mobile.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Almost all major video serving sites can stream the video directly to mobile devices without any middleware. It's kind of ironic that desktop users are forced to use a piece of completely proprietary software because of the more free/irregular enviorment.
     
  22. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,829 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,585
    Adobe blames Apple for the death of Flash Player for mobile ...

    Mike Chambers, the Principal Product manager for the Flash Platform at Adobe said so in his blog ...


    http://www.mikechambers.com/blog/20...s-the-flash-platform-and-the-future-of-flash/
     
  23. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Couldn't compete with HTML5 = APPLE DID IT!

    Typical Adobe.
     
  24. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    Its an issue with his phone itself as to why it doesn't have flash... simply... its too slow. I had an Optimus M, which is pretty much the same as his spec wise... except battery life. His phone only has a 600mhz cpu. I think it uses an Adreno 200 gpu. I think Dolphin web browser will enable flash, but don't expect it to perform well.

    specs of the phone... http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_optimus_s-3583.php

    the phone's cpu... http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=cpu&id=a7627&c=qualcomm_msm7627

    and the requirements for Adobe Flash on Android. well for ver. 11 anyway.
    http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/tech-specs.html
     
    More than 25k PPD
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    opera mobile. it uses flash. its extreeemeeee.



    i can open facebook like a desktop. it has this mode which lets u set the agent, mobile or desktop.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page