1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB][US] Mobo+CPU+memory+videocard for around 150$ (2010 era)

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Ubuntusario, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    I need something at least 5 times faster then my current setup athlon xp 3000+, I need something better to run video editing and gaming but I dont' want to spend too much on a new pc I'm thinking a 2010 technology cpu will do. What are you thoughts. :respect:
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    So used?
     
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,158 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Gaming means what kind of gaming? RP, FPS? What is the monitor resolution?
     
  4. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    my monitor sucks it max out at 1024x768 and is an lcd check my system specs. Why does it matter I'm going to run it at that resolution anyway don't plan going anything bigger, and I like FPS.
     
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,158 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    It does matter, because it gives us an idea what graphics power you need. At that resolution you should be ok with a mid range graphics card.

    Let me see if I can get you a combo deal.

    :toast:
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    YHPM Sir!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    your ram is old its ddr1 thats ddr3 :laugh:
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  10. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I don't have anything for you, but you might want to consider the following setup:

    Phenom II X4 processor - $40
    Budget AM3 motherboard - $30
    HD 5770 - $60 (you can go lower if you don't need such a powerful video card)
    4GB DDR3 - $20
     
    Ubuntusario and Jetster say thanks.
  11. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    40$? NEwegg has a Phenom II X4 for 109$ that's 69$ more you mean a used one on tpu? is it ok to buy oem for this cpu?

    if I get a cpu only phenom ii what heatsink should I get for it? how much more does it cost to add silent cooling to my setup? I hate the noise my powersupply and video card do! I want total silence.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012
  12. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    any 3.2, 3.4 phenom i x4 that are available as combos?
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Mine was $65. Keep an eye out and shop places other than newegg.

    I have an M4A78T-E that I wouldn't mind selling, but if memory serves correct a certain overclocking incident killed the upper PCI-e slot.
     
  14. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    You could also go with a Phenom II X3 and try your luck with unlocking the fourth core
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I believe Micro Center is selling new OEM Phenom II X4 830s for $39.99. If you have one near you, go pick one up. Buy some memory while you're there, you can get a 4GB stick for like $20.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a combo for you

    Phenom II 940 Black Edition Quad Core
    Asus M3A78-CM 780G Motherboard
    Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 4GB 2x2GB

    150$ plus 12$ shipped?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,132 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,537
    Location:
    Wyoming
    ++++1111 That is a great deal and Brandon is an awesome person to work with. Dang, if you don't take it I just might for a spare rig.:p:p:p
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I gotta start selling stuff. Gonna downsize to 1 cruncher in order to buy a truck
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    pm me with the specs of that cpu and memory support on the motherboard, is it worth it going to ddr3 vs ddr2 I thought phenoms ii x4 supported ddr3. I want at least a 3.0ghz phenom.
     
  20. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,844 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Well that chip is a 3 ghz phenom ii x4 and it only supports ddr2 that that is the perfect ddr2 combo and a really great price. I can't beat that price with a stick and like was said Brandon is a great trader and will take care of you. His stuff is also proven to be good and stable.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Gonna keep my eye out for this to happen.

    ddr3 would be better choice to go as they are cheaper then ddr2 since the demand of ddr2 went down drastically. you can get basic ddr3 for around $20.

    good luck on your hunt.
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The motherboard supports AM3 quads and six cores up to 1090T :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    I want to add that I would like the video card with a silent cooling solution if anyone has one like that please pm me I fear water cooling because i heard it may leak, but if there is something like a easy solution I'll buy it from you.
     
  24. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    Someone hook this man up. He's using the hardware I had when I was in high school, and I'm 26 now.

    I seriously just built an Am2 system with a dualcore 5000+ and 3gb of ram and a radeon 4350(ddr3 version) for literally (almost)nothing.

    I found an HP slimline with a bad PSU someone threw away, and an emachines that still worked (socket 754).

    I bought a mini 24pin PSU adapter and put the slimline system in the emachines case using the stock emachines PSU and I have a decent little backup system. I would give it to you but I've promised it to a friend.

    But the point is... keep a sharp eye out. You will find last years hardware lying around sometimes.

    Goodluck.
     
  25. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    Someone has a HD 5770 for like 60$ that wants to sell me.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page