1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mobo S/PDIF input header, how to use them with PS3?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kid41212003, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I noticed the mobo has the SPDIF input header (require a bracket to use?), I'm wondering if my PS3 can output sound through this? So that I don't have to switch speakers everytime I want to play my PS3 (same speakers for PC and PS3).
     
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    bump, I need to know this toO!
     
    kid41212003 says thanks.
  3. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    862 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    You sure it is an input and not an output? Most motherboards have SPDIF outputs for the digital onboard sound which are connected to the SPDIF input on your video card if it has one. I can't say I've ever seen a mobo with a SPDIF input, though. What's the make/model?
     
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Not sure on mine, but if you notice in the below screenshot, it has a tab up top for input and one for output. See below:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,417 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,428
    I have seen motherboards with S/PDIF inputs, the problem is that this is Coaxial S/PDIF, not optical, which the PS3 can't output anyway.

    The GA-EX58 Extreme does have an S/PDIF in connector on the board, but as I said it is the Coaxial version, which the PS3 doesn't support.
     
    coljarcker says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Yeah, I believe I did some google search back there, and I read something similar. I'm not quite understand about the coaxial, optical things. :ohwell:
     
  8. jalyst

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    73 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    perhaps there are optical to coax converters/adapters?
     
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page