1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Modder Unlocks Vista Driver Features on Creative Sound Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,266 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,433
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    his current problem is that after a reboot, the volume is now about 1/3 what it was when he first got it working..

    (for reference, i know him in the rw - my work and his studies just happen to be at different hours, so i cant go around and help him directly)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    633 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    holy shit!!!!!1:eek: its like night and day with these drivers! and 5.1 surround actually works! thanks solaris
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    BTW if anyone is interested in that Alchemy Universal thing, just drop me a PM and i'll give link (it's on torrent page). Or tell me where i can upload it without registration (3,6MB). :)
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,266 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,433
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    feel free to PM me, just dont post any links here or you may get in trouble.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,052 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,310
    Location:
    Florida
    your quite welcome.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,266 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,433
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    ah man... i just realised what alchemy universal is. Its not enabling alchemy for the sound cards creative ditched... its for ALL soundcards, from any brand.

    So anyone who wants EAX in vista... message pagalms for the link.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    same here only i have the xtreme audio which should be supported, is cause im on x64?
     
  8. Syborfical New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I bought my sound card but the drives SUCK undervista

    Since i bought the hardware why can't I RUN anysoftware i want

    Creatve are run by retards... they could hire one guy to do there work or sue him :S ...
     
  9. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    theres a whole thread on how they proboly had to disable the features they did..and why this guy was breaching the eula..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Ever heard of Creative will release a new soundcard that is the same as the old ones except uses unlocked software?
     
  11. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Its no more the same card than a Athlon XP was a Athlon 64/Opteron. Im not going to say its as functional as it should be, but ruminating over the same shit over and over is not going to make your cards get features from creative they legally cant deliver. Hopefully there offical drivers will get better, I personally dont really care. Your asking for software support modern on cards that were already released. If you take away the insentive for the consumer to buy new products by giving the old ones new features you will go out of buessness. You dont see Nvidia rerighting drivers to force older cards to run inn high dx levels. Im sure it can be done by adding another virtual layer to the card, and it probobly would not even peform that bad.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,266 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,433
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    you dont se Nv re-writing drivers to force newer DX levels... true. We also dont see Nv dropping DX9 support from cards in vista, because 'oh you dont have a DX10 card, so you cant have DX9 either'

    Its like dropping SSE from the athlon XP, because the A64 could run SSE2. it makes no sense, yet thats what creative did (ditched EAX from all cards not X-fi, even tho its proven they work just fine)

    Your comment about a 'virtual layer' and video cards is wrong - they truly were hardware before unified shaders, so therse no way to re-write them. Case in point, the GF FX series which could only do 16 and 32 bit shaders... and when 24 was chosen as teh norm, the cards got raped really hard. If it was possible to fix that, Nv would have.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,070 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Florida, US
    F*** Creative!
    thx for the heads up
     
  14. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    You can get eax back by downloading alchamy. I will give you I would not want to pay for it.

    Thats wrong a virtual layer could be made to emulate. I wont comment on the performance but it can be done, it was done for a long time (90s? before direct x and open gl, wolfenstin 3d?)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. FarEast New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    anyone have the p17 to xtreme audio mod please send it to me..really need it..:banghead::banghead:
     
  16. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Hmm, i have modded drivers, which turns Audigy Se into "X-Fi" Extreme Audio, but they didn't worked for me. Maybe i have curve_hands.dll installed :confused:
     
  17. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,070 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Florida, US
    w00t I have my SB Live!/5.1/7.1/Value/Digital working perfectly in vista thx to Brazilman
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,266 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,433
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    I think one of the Xfi drivers is missing - the one that sparked this all, with the dolby encoding
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,070 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Florida, US
    you should be able to find it after some searching ;)
     
  20. wolf2009 Guest

    the setup doesn't run for me, any ideas ? i'm using vista 64-bit, have x-fi xtreme music .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,885 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    You have the same setup as I do then...works great for me!

    :toast:
     
  22. darisimo New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello i have a CT4760 card, but when i installed it to my pc, after 2 or 3 minutes i have a blue screen error. What should i do? Please help.
     
  23. sinister_steve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    475 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    canada kamloops
    Daniel Kawakami (AKA "Daniel_K

    Damn should contact this guy to get some drivers from him...I read he has good drivers for 8800 series on another site for intel mobo,s..steve
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2008
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,266 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,433
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    you should read the forum rules and ask that in its own thread.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Anyone got the X-Fi drivers for Vista x64? Wouldnt mind giving them a spin and see what improvements are available. Iv searched the web but can only find the audidgy and live driver packs he created.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)