1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Modding Sapphire (reference) HD6950 to 6970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by RoboX, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi, my VGA is a Sapphire HD6950 dual bios (i think reference model....ATI-102-C21601) (PHOTO)


    1. could you tell me how to flash it to 6970 and above "what" bios I have to install (and in particular "where" to download)

    2. After tried a "gefault" bios of the 6970 I would try to use a modified bios with this setting:

    - GPU voltage and frequency of the 6970
    - MEM voltage and timings of the 6950
    - MEM frequency of the 6970

    do you know if is it possible and if there is a bios already modified to download?...if not, do you know if I can modify it with RBE or similar utility?
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2012
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Does your card have dual BIOS?


    I have a reference Sapphire card, should be fairly easy.

    Extract the BIOS from your card. Use the "Script" to mod that bios for the extra shaders, and flash it to the #1 BIOS using the directions in the 6950 mod thread(switch towards the power connectors, not towards teh display connectors).

    Then get teh RacerX mod to increase CCC limits...


    Then test.


    Also, there's an XFX BIOS that wil lallow for modded votlage to give you a bit more voltage. Let me know about the BIOS switch, and modding your own BIOS, and then I can hook you up with other BIOSes.

    FYI, linked pic doesn't work. PLease feel free to host one @ www.techpowerup.org.
     
  3. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    yes, dual bios....first post corrected with right photo link
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Follow the direction here:

    Script to mod your own BIOS(directions on how to use the script are in the file for the script in that post):

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2137760&postcount=381


    Directions on how to flash:


    - Unpack the Winflash download onto your desktop in a folder called "winflash"
    - Save the modded BIOS in your Winflash folder and name it unlock.bin
    - Click Start Button
    - Type "cmd"
    - Right click the entry and select "Run as Administrator"
    - Black command prompt windows opens
    - Type "cd %USERPROFILE%\desktop\winflash"
    - Type "atiwinflash -unlockrom 0" <-- the 0 means first adapter, if you have multiple cards, physically uninstall all but the one you want to flash
    - Type "atiwinflash -f -p 0 unlock.bin"
    - It should complete the flashing process with a message saying something with "verified".


    More info:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/159
     
  5. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    - start witch bios switched to n.1
    - flash a bios modded
    - restart but I have a BSOD during loading the operating sistem
    - restart with bios n.2

    Now, if I wont try to flash another bios to n.2, but I started the pc with the bios n.2, how can I do?
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    after boot you can flip the switch to flash the other BIOS.

    Un-isntall drivers before flashing to help deal with issues on boot.
     
  7. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    after I startet with bios n.2, when to the desktop, I can swith to bios n.1 and if I use winflash to flash another bios, this is flashed on bios 1?
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Exactly, yes.
     
  9. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    I modified bios with RBE @ gpu voltage e frequencies of the 6970 and "unlock 6970"

    I restart and the pc boot, load windows but during the loading (windows 7 icon ecc) have a bsod (atikmdag.sys)


    You think is a drivers problem?
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    might be, yes. It's also possible that the BIOS did not like the voltage mod, some are that way. I cannot adjust VOLTAGE in BIOS with Sapphire BIOS or get same BSOD as you, so perhaps try shader-unlock only, flashing BIOS form other brand, or flashing a full 6970 BIOS.
     
  11. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    I made these attempts:

    - flash the original BIOS os my 6950 modified with 6970 shaders
    - flash Sapphire 6970 BIOS
    - flash Bios Asus, ATI, HIS 6970

    in all these cases shaders are not changed (1408) .... maximum change was that

    [​IMG]

    What do you think?
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Did you re-install drivers after these flashes? sometimes that is required. Give it a try, 6970 BIOS should just work, as far as I know...only a few reference cards did not flash.
     
  13. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    I have tryed...same result :cry:
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I've heard of this before with a reference card like your own, but only once.


    You may want to try a different BIOS, like the XFX "reference" 6950 2GB one.
     
  15. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    I download XFX "reference" 6950 2GB bios then I mod with rbe for unlock the shaders and flash it ?
     
  16. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    428 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    6900 series bios cannot modify the clocks within the bios.

    There are encryped hashs within the bios that the driver checks on boot up. If they dont match, it BSODs.

    You can change the voltage on the refernce BIOS, and the fan settings, but no clocks, and no overdrive max.

    They do this to force the card vendors to submit their bios modifications to AMD for signing...
     
  17. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    113 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    With another HD6950 (the PowerColor HD6950 2GB Dual-Fan) I managed to unlock the shaders and now I have some doubt:

    1. you know a bench / test or similar that uses the GPU at the same time and above all the RAM available (2GB)? ... to test if the overclock is stable

    2. I would like to keep under control the temperature of the vrm which is detected only by the GPU-Z (this is the last version while with msi, rivatuner, aida is not detected): gpuz displays VREG Temperatures 1 always at 0 degrees and VREG Temperatures 2 which between 25 and 26 ° in Full: possible? ... reliable? .... other ways to measure them?

    3. In Catalyst, "Power Control" what is it and how it set?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page