1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitor not recognized by windows vista

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by dankmn, May 20, 2009.

  1. dankmn New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Back again with monitor problems...So I did get the LCD display to finally work BUT for some stupid reason windows is seeing my monitor as a "Non pnp monitor" and not as a "sceptre" like it used to. The weird part is when I open up CCC and go to display manager it recognizes it perfectly all the resolutions and HD modes are there but I can't use anything above 1024x768 because of stupid windows.

    I downloaded the "vista" drivers off sceptres' webpage but that doesn't do jack shit...you right click it and click install and it doesn't support that method, you go through display manager and try to update it manually it says that it doesn't contain anything related to your device....I would really like to get out of 1024x768 everything is so HUGE i'm not an old lady.....

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    oh specs are

    CPU: AMD athlon 64 x2 4600+
    MOBO: ASUS M2R32-MVP
    Video: gigabyte 1gb 4870 (2) crossfire not enabled
    Memory: 2x Corsair XMS (1gb each) 2x Gskill PI (2gb each)
    Windows Vista Ultimate x64
    Sceptre XsomethingGamer 1080 (not at home can't check atm)
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2009
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,325 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,896
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If it doesn't detect it as a Plug N' Play monitor, you'll have to fore-feed it a driver. The easiest way to do that is to use Device Manager. Spectre's site should have the drivers or at least instructions to workaround the issue.

    All device manager cares about is *.inf, *.cab, and *.sys files. My guess is you get a self-extracting archieve from Spectre and you extracted it somewhere. Page through that directory and see if you can find any of those file types. Maybe you'll instead find a executable. Run the executable to get it sorted.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. dankmn New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ;SCEPTRE MONITOR DEVICE INFORMATION FILE FOR WINDOWS 2000,
    ;WINDOWS XP and Windows Vista
    ;SCEPTRE INC EDITED BY ROBERT LI
    ;REVISION DATE 07/24/07


    ; ================== Version section ===========================
    [VERSION]
    SIGNATURE="$Windows NT$"
    CLASS=MONITOR
    ClassGuid = {4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
    PROVIDER=%MFG%
    DriverVer=03/08/2007,2.0.1
    CatalogFile = monitor.cat

    [SourceDisksNames]
    1="Sceptre LCD Monitor Installation Disk",,0

    [DestinationDirs]
    DefaultDestDir=11

    ; ================== Manufacturer/Models sections ==============
    [MANUFACTURER]
    %MFG%=SCEPTRE

    [SCEPTRE]
    ;LCD MONITOR
    ;SCEPTRE
    %SPT2091%=SPT2091, MONITOR\SPT2091 ;X20WG-Naga
    %SPT2011%=SPT2011, MONITOR\SPT2011 ;X20WG-1080P
    %SPT2200%=SPT2200, MONITOR\SPT2200 ;X22WG-Gamer
    %SPT2301%=SPT2301, MONITOR\SPT2301 ;X23WG-1080P
    %SPT2201%=SPT2201, MONITOR\SPT2201 ;X22WG-1080P
    %SPT2401%=SPT2401, MONITOR\SPT2401 ;X24WG-Naga


    ;INSTALL SECTIONS

    ;X20WGNAGA
    [SPT2091]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=SPT2091.AddReg, 1680, DPMS
    AddReg=SPT2091.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

    [SPT2091.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1680,1050",MODE1,,"30.5-66.0,55.0-60.0,+,+"
    HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
    HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7


    ;X20WG1080P
    [SPT2011]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=SPT2091.AddReg, 1680, DPMS
    AddReg=SPT2091.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

    [SPT2011.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1680,1050",MODE1,,"30.5-66.0,55.0-60.0,+,+"
    HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
    HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7


    ;X22WGGAMER
    [SPT2200]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=SPT2200.AddReg, 1680, DPMS
    AddReg=SPT2200.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

    [SPT2200.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1680,1050",MODE1,,"30.5-66.0,55.0-60.0,+,+"
    HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
    HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7


    ;X23WG1080P
    [SPT2301]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=SPT2301.AddReg, 1440, DPMS
    AddReg=SPT2301.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

    [SPT2301.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1440,900",MODE1,,"30.5-73.0,55.0-75.0,+,+"
    HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
    HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7



    ;X22WG1080P
    [SPT2201]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=SPT2201.AddReg, 1680, DPMS
    AddReg=SPT2201.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

    [SPT2201.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1680,1050",MODE1,,"30.5-66.0,55.0-60.0,+,+"
    HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
    HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7




    ;X24WG-Naga
    [SPT2401]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=SPT2401.AddReg, 1920, DPMS
    AddReg=SPT2401.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

    [SPT2401.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1920,1200",MODE1,,"30.5-76.0,55.0-60.0,+,-"
    HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"



    ;COMMON ADD/DEL REG SECTION
    [DEL_CURRENT_REG]
    HKR,MODES
    HKR,,MAXRESOLUTION
    HKR,,DPMS
    HKR,,ICMProfile


    ; Pre-defined AddReg sections
    [1680]
    HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1680,1050"

    [1440]
    HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1440,900"

    [1280]
    HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1280,1024"

    [1920]
    HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1200"


    [DPMS]
    HKR,,DPMS,,1



    ;STRINGS SECTION
    [Strings]
    MonitorClassName="Monitor"
    MFG="SCEPTRE, INC."

    SPT2091="SCEPTRE X20WG-Naga"
    SPT2011="SCEPTRE X20WG-1080P"
    SPT2200="SCEPTRE X22WG-Gamer"
    SPT2301="SCEPTRE X23WG-1080P"
    SPT2201="SCEPTRE X22WG-1080P"
    SPT2401="SCEPTRE X24WG-Naga"


    ;END OF FILE


    That is the ONLY thing their "driver" file is, just an INF no instructions nothing.
    And if you look in the file near the top it says [SourceDisksNames]
    1="Sceptre LCD Monitor Installation Disk",,0

    No CD came with this monitor I bought it off new egg it wasn't an OEM everything was included and their was definately NO CD or installation disk at all.

    As far as force feeding the driver it says the file doesn't contain anything pertaining to my device so it won't let me force feed
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,705 (12.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,561
    Are you using a DVI adapter or VGA (D-Sub)?
     
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,325 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,896
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I assume you downloaded sceptre_vista_certified.inf (either zipped or not)...

    This procedure is probably slightly different on Windows Vista.

    In device manager, under monitors, click on the "Default Monitor." Click on the "Driver" tab, followed by the "Update Driver" button. If it prompts to go online, say no. You want to install it from a list or specific location (advanced). Check "don't search, I will choose" and then next. Click on "Have Disk" and browse to the INF you got from the site. Click next a few times and you should be sorted.


    INFs are just basic instructions for the operating system to install a driver. The important stuff is actually in "monitor.cat." Windows may ship with that file. If not, you'll have to contact their tech support and tell them you need that file as the downloads on the site don't have it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. dankmn New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can't get it to connect on just the DVI cord, whenever i hook it up with just the DVI cord I get no signal....but when I hook it up with VGA, I have to use a VGA to DVI converter because my video card does not have a VGA input on it. But it does work with the adapter, I'm guessing its something to do with single/double link DVI cords but I can't tell which is which you google DVI adapters and theres like 8 different
     
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,325 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,896
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Most monitors are DVI-D with male/male ends.

    All that INF really does is add a handful of registry entires, most noteably:
    HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1200"

    Do you have the 22" or 23" model?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. dankmn New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    22" I'm pretty sure the cord that was included with the monitor is a dual link (bottom one in picture)
    [​IMG]

    and the VGA to DVI adapter is a single link analog.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2009
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,325 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,896
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The key is the -- with the two dots above and below it. If those dots are there, it is DVI-I or DVI-A. If there's no holes there, just the flat bar, it is a DVI-D. All the LCD monitors I have seen are dual-link even if it doesn't use dual-link--they would not at all accept DVI-A or DVI-I because those four holes aren't present.

    X22WG-Gamer <-- Sound right?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. dankmn New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah thats that one.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page