1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitor resolution issues

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by cdawall, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Well I got my monitors in finally. They are all HP L2045w's which support 1680X1050@60Hz. The issue I am having is they seem to think they actually support 1680X1050@75Hz which doesn't work at all.

    To get them to work in NV surround I need to make the 75Hz option disappear anyone know of a way to remove that support from the driver?
     
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Try PowerStrip, I used to use it in for my old Sony TV with some whack resolution that no ATI or Nvidia card would output.

    http://entechtaiwan.com/util/ps.shtm

    IIRC, if I removed a resolution from the software, it would also disappear in my GPU drivers until I reinstalled them.

    PS - It is a pay-to-use software (with a trial), but where there's a will, there's a way.
     
  3. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    723 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    What if you use the Windows default screen resolution settings instead of NV settings, what Hz does the monitor report?
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    It shows up to 75Hz which causes the monitor to kick off and say to swap to 1680X1050@60Hz.
     
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Have you tried installing the monitor .inf file from HP's site? It can remove weirdness like this.
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I did it still kicks to 75Hz powerstrip didn't help the nv surround issues.
     
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Did you try removing the resolution+refresh rate combination off PowerStrip in the options somewhere? If that failed, try unplugging all of your monitors and waiting like 15 minutes, Windows should detect a new display and try to update drivers for it. I know when my computer wouldn't detect the proper resolution (wouldn't detect my monitor properly), that's what someone suggested I do and it worked like a charm.
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    It's detecting the monitors correctly just not the resolution...model number etc are all correct.
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Tried to manually override the edid and it still shows 75Hz I blame nvidia two seconds on my laptop and I manually overrode the max settings the edid kicked out.

    Going to try to fix the edid in the proper way when I get home...

    http://www.avsforum.com/t/1091403/edid-override-thread/2250

    In case anyone in the future needs that.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Finally got it with a windows reinstall and modded monitor driver. Good news is they are all forced to 1680X1050@65HZ so not a bad deal overall got 5Hz extra out of them as well :)
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    :cool:
     
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,622 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    Location:
    Rochester area
    65Hz o_O
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    They are only rated for 60Hz 65Hz was the max I could crank them up to without issues. :laugh:
     
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,622 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    Location:
    Rochester area
    it will fry
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    How so? Dozen's upon dozen's of people have their monitors cranked over stock...

    There is an entire thread with people cranking the Hz up on monitors here...
     
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Indeed, if the monitor doesn't like the signal, you just don't see a picture, or you see a distorted one. It won't kill it though, especially an LCD. CRT's were different and could sometimes be damaged by an out of spec signal they'd struggle to lock on to.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page