1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitor supports higher than max res?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by cdawall, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    my monitor supports a max res of 1280X1024 but i went into the advanced timing section and managed 1500X1100 and it looks just fine is it safe to run the monitor like this or will it cause issues?
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,399 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    my monitor says max res 1680x1050 but displays 1920x1080 perfectly
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    yeah i can run 1920X1080 perfect as well but its 4X3 not 16X9 so the text looks wrong
  4. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,399 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    mine 16x10 so it works but i think its due to the onboard hdcp/Fardoja chip that allows it to have every type of av input imaginable excluding hdmi but dvi is just as good i guess
  5. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I don't know but if i try to run anything above 1280x1024 then my image is not correct.
    But how is it possible to run such high res on a 17 inch monitor?

    [​IMG]
  6. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    Well if you click on advanced, and then click on the monitor tab, uncheck the box that says Hide blah blah. Though in many cases, it doesn't actaully change the resolution at all, it just format its back to the max resolution it has, at least it does that on my monitor.
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    mines 17in and it does 1920X1080 fine (1280X1024 normal)
  8. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    Like can you actually see the difference? Is everything smaller? Everything is all distorted? Because I can change my resolution past 1650x1080 but it appears to just change the resolution back to what it was, and report to me that it is something else.
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]
    mind you this a very small amount over stock but this is what i used to get ~1440X1080 not bad and
    yes it is noticeably smaller than 1280X1024 and much crisper
  10. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Dont run 1280x1024, its a 5:4 ratio, and CRT's are 4:3 natively, so the image will look stretched. 1280x960 is 4:3

    Running anything higher than your monitor's max res probably just gets downscaled at some point.
  11. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    for crt monitors you are just overscanning. the monitor is running faster then normal and just scans quicker. almost every crt will overscan but most lcds have a built in scaler to transfer from input res to normal res.
  12. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    LCD's should be used at their native resolution anyway, otherwise the image becomes crap.
    As for CRT, it doesn't really matter. As long as you can run it with a decent refresh rate. The stretching issue is of course a non-issue, completely dependent on your own preference. It's jsut like watching 4:3 tv on widescreen, people seem to like it. I don't.
  13. MrSeanKon

    MrSeanKon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Athens in love with Anna :)
    I agree.
    My LG 19" TFT is 1280*1024 but any other resolution is terrible....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page