1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitor to TV Upgrade Problem!

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by TheDave545, May 21, 2012.

  1. TheDave545 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hey Guys,

    Been having a problem today, got a new Monitor/TV for my PC, now i had the LG W2261PV, and it worked great no problems, i just wanted a bigger screen as i sit back a lot, so i decided to go out and buy the Samsung T27A550, now it looks top but even after playing around with the settings for a bit the image doesn't look quite right, the writing looks slightly wrong, its looks out of focus if i mess with the sharpness but if i dont it seems to jagged.

    Now when i play Crysis 2 on Ultra on this new TV the FPS drop is quite big and it runs quite slow with crossfire enabled, it actually plays worse with CF, now on my 22" it worked perfect no problems with about 63 fps with CF and 48 without.

    BF3 just doesn't look the graphical powerhouse it did on my 22", it seems washed out now and a bit of a fps drop too, thats with and without CF enabled.

    Company of Heroes i used to get 60 - 90 fps on a single card, now on the benchmark i get 24 fps.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    most LCD TV's are not meant to be used as a computer monitor. My LCD looks OK but still prefer a monitor over the TV any day.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. TheDave545 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No its an LED mate!
     
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,842 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    It sounds like you're not running the TV at its native resolution, or if you are, you need to fiddle around with the sharpness setting and perhaps sync - it all depends on the model.

    As you're gettin a lower fps, then it means that you're running your graphics card at a higher resolution than before, likely 1920x1080.

    Your TV uses LCD technology with an LED backlight. It's not an "LED TV".
     
  5. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    ^ Yep. First thing I noticed when I got my LCD TV is there are a lot more options and thongs to fiddle around with than normal computer monitors. Just keep fiddling.
     
  6. TheDave545 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well just trying the VGA cable now, pretty sure its with the DVI Adapter not sure, but the picture looks miles better, except it seems a bit washed out, even with messing with the image it still seems a bit washed.

    BF3 looked back to its awesome self but it seemed a bit motion blurry and i had that turned off, thats the best i can describe it, will try Crysis and COH now.
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    VGA will have that feeling with a HD TV. try a HDMI cable
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. TheDave545 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I tried the HDMI first and thats the stuff that was happening, now i just tried COH and Crysis 2 with this VGA cable.

    COH is back up there with 60+ FPS and Crysis 2 ran just as smooth as it used to, think im gonna stick with this for now, will try Batman later and a few other games just to see.

    Thanks for the replies too guys.
     
  9. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Just up the colour saturation in the AMD vison Engine and that should sort out the washed out colours matey.
     
    TheDave545 says thanks.
  10. TheDave545 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Whats the AMD vision Engine?
     
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,892 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,571
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Seeing you have AMD cards and are probably using HDMI, the scaling is probably off as well as the color space (probably defaulted to YCbCr instead of Limited RGB which it should be because AMD's HDMI settings are retarded). Go in CCC, Displays, and change those settings. Also, go into your TV and make sure the picture is set to "Normal" or possibly "Wide."

    I had an Insignia 22" 1080p monitor I used in college as a TV/monitor and it looked like crap compared to my $300 ASUS VG236HE 120Hz monitor which is so clear, crisp and well balanced color-wise. The TV was blurry and red text was fat and fuzzy for some reason. Some TVs are "decent" for computing, and others like my roommate's Samsung 24" were absolutely horrific.
     
    TheDave545 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Its the updated CCC :)
     
  13. TheDave545 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks mate, but im using the VGA for now, everything works perfect for it so ill stick with it, but if i ever switch back this info will do me some good so thanks.
     
  14. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    You should look up tv forums and experiment with different settings. I found that the picture quaility improved radically and the settings were considerably different to the factory settings. The difference in models, the orientation and location of my room and my own preferences may render my particular settings useless to you , but here they are:

    Backlight 1
    Contrast 80
    Brightness 50
    Sharpness 50
    Colour 50
    Tint (G/R): G50/R50
    Advance Settings: everything off

    You should also play about with cleartype:

    http://www.microsoft.com/typography/cleartype/tuner/tune.aspx
     
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,892 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,571
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I think Samsung has some naughty HDMI processing going on since the VGA input works better. I know my roommate's set looked like garbage when I used HDMI on an HD 3850, and I don't believe I was ever able to correct the picture to "normal."
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page