1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitor turns on, then off.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DrPepper, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Hello everyone I've got a samsung p2450 and when I turn it on, it immediately turns back off. I've replaced what looked like a burnt out resistor but it still turns off very quickly. Doesn't look like there are any damaged caps at all.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,728 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Sounds like the LCD inverter is damaged. Same thing happened to an old sony laptop and I replaced the inverter and had no further issues
     
    DrPepper says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    That's what I thought. Where can I get a new one.
     
  4. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    ebay isnt a bad choice.
    also aswell as looking for the monitor's manufacturer number,look on the circuit board for any identification numbers etc as most manufacturers will use the same parts suppliers,so one board will be available from different source monitors.
     
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Can't find any replacement inverters on the web for it :(
     
  6. sparkyar

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    its the inverter

    the same happened to me with 2 lcd, lg 2753 and dell 1708
     
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I hope your warranty was over before you open it up to change the resistor...

    Samsung & others have a 3 years warranty on their monitors + free shipping

    Anyhow i hope you can fix it for cheap , because usually it cost more to fix then to buy a new one but since you're doing yourself you'll save the labor cost ;)
     
  8. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It's not my monitor my friend said that the warranty was over so that's why I opened it up.
     
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    What is the part number of the inverter board?

    Should be printed on it like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Erm is the inverter the part connected to the actual display or another part that is either the power supply or the board with the display on it.
     
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Your board may look something likes these...

    IMG_1789_800px.jpg

    PowerSupplyUnits.jpg

    Edit: Sorry was having some technical problems.:)

    Yes, it is part of the power supply board.
    Thanks, dr emulator (madmax)...
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
  12. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    it more than likely will be part of the powersupply ,in my dealings with monitors they usually are ,laptops however usually have a seperate inveter , i have seen some with replaceable mosfet chips, but alot are surface mounted ,which would be a royal pain in the ass to remove
    hopefully they won't be ;)
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Pictures aren't appearing. I'l get detailed pictures in the morning.

    The power supply has a massive burn mark on the resistor that I replaced which should be repaired now.
     
  14. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    it'll be conected to the inverter by the pink and white partially sleaved wires (usuall covered by some silver coloured metallic tape)
    [​IMG]
     
  15. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    more than likely one or more of the transistors have blown or shorted out (you'll have to get your multimeter out ,but wait for the mains capacitor to disharge or you''ll be frying tonight :laugh:)

    take pics of the board
     
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I'l remember. I thought that board was the power supply since the power cable went to it. I'l get pictures and get it sorted out, got a lot on my plate tonight.
     
  17. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    well we can guide you to the part that might have shorted out (with enough pics), but then it's upto you to test it and what not ;)

    ye the inverter is usually intergrated onto the psu board ,not to complicated a circuit, but as i've said to others the parts might be hard to get a hold of :(
     
  18. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    In all honesty,a photo of the OP's board should allow us collectively to source a replacement,as long as the board model number can be ID'd.
    I'm looking at a schematic of the pcb now but navigating it is painfully difficult due to only having a half gig of ram in my pc :roll:
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
  19. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Here are the pictures. Please excuse my shitty soldering I have insanely shaky hands.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  20. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    DrPepper and 95Viper say thanks.
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Went ahead and bought the part :)

    Thanks very much everyone.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  22. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    hm this kinda sounds familiar but sauce :laugh::D

    seriously though i'd like to see the diagram (if you've got the exact one ;))

    @the Dr, label your cables first before dismantling it ;)
     
  23. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I can remember it all off by heart now :)
     
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,870 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I was gonna say that this all sounds like an awful lot of bother and possible expense for an old monitor and recommend just buying a new one, which is likely to have better specs anyway.

    However, as you've already bought the part, I hope it fixes it for you. :)
     
  25. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It's only a year old though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page