1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

More freezing and more lock ups on idle

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CarolinaKSU, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I had this problem a while back and ended up just scrapping the entire thing and moving into a 1.5TB RAID0 array, so not lack of space now! Anyway, what is happening is when I let my pc idle for extended periods, anything longer than half an hour it seems like, i get random lockups and complete freezes. No response, no BSOD, nothing, just a windows desktop whose clock is frozen in time.

    Although, a common theme with these most recent lockups is that it seems like they occur under heavy network use. I was getting them when transferring a huge ISO file while using FileZilla and most recently while streaming videos from the pc to my PS3 via wireless. Can a messed up network adapter cause an entire system to freeze like this? If anyone has any advice, please please help. I am getting desperate with my now lemon a pc.. :banghead:
     
  2. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Hmm, this is very weird.

    Maby its trying to go into sleep mode and thats making it lock up, making you're Raid lose sync because its shutting down your hard drives? I dunno man. :/

    I've been getting random small browser lock ups when saving/opening files on my computer. They last anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,933 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,231
    problems like that could be caused by the HDD's going into a sleep state, and not waking up. disable that in the windows control panel, under power settings.
     
  4. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Exactly what mussels said!

    goto the control panel and goto Performance and Maintenance, then goto power options and make sure turn off disk's is set to never.
     
  5. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Unfortunately, I already checked that.. They are already set to never turn off in the power settings. This is very very frustrating :shadedshu
     
  6. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    Check the frontpage. Apparently you're not alone with this issue. A firmware upgrade is promised and should fix the issue, but I'm not sure when it is to be released.
     
  7. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Yeah, maybe Samsung can come out with a firmware upgrade for mine.. If it was that simple I would be overjoyed
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,933 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,231
    he has samsung 750's, not seagate 1.5TB.s

    All i can think of now, is that its definately hardware, and the best way to locate it is process of elimination - taking bits of hardware out of the PC.

    Do you have a spare HDD? I'd suggest taking the RAID out, booting your OS off a single HDD and seeing if the problem goes away. You could have a bad raid controller, or just a whacky compatibility issue.
     
  9. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Well I'm back.. I have had internet troubles all day and had to fight with the ISP to get cable modems added and deleted etc, etc.. But I think that is a good idea, I have my old 500gb WD Caviar as a backup drive and is being used as a pagefile.

    Should it prove not to be a random hardware problem but turns out to be something with the RAID, what can I do to continue using it? What would be a way to check to make sure the actual disks themselves arent failing?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page