1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

More MHz eats more Watt @ same Volt?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Laurijan, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Hi!

    I am somehow going green lately after some being pissed off at my power company about rising price last 12 month 3 times (I changed my power company 2 weeks ago) and some pain in the ass bills.

    Now I would like to know if my "green" OC off more MHz on my Q6600 but default VCore makes sense.

    When I had an Watt-meter some weeks ago I didn´t notice any difference. I had approx 150W consuption in XPs desktop @ idle and no more Watts when applying a 500MHz OC that was stable at default VCore.

    I had SpeedStep on and it lowered the MHz to about 500MHz less than it would with the normal 2400MHz.

    So my logic says that more MHz don´t use up more Watt if not feeded intentionally?

    Lauri
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2011
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
  3. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  4. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    I did some testing with my Q9550 system, Win 7 64-bit:
    Code:
                      idle, C-states & EIST on  idle, EIST on  idle, C-states & EIST off   full load, Linx 
    2.83 GHz           95 W                            107 W                   108 W                    183 W
    3.61 GHz           99 W                            109 W                   109 W                    208 W
    4.25 GHz                                                                   131 W                    321 W
    Lower speeds were using stock 1.225 Vcore, 4.25 GHz was using 1.3375 V. Seems that as long as you don't touch Vcore setting power usage doesn't increase very much.
    Laurijan says thanks.
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page