1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Morphological AA officially coming to HD5xxx cards "soon"

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by human_error, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,829 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Not sure if anyone has seen this reported elsewhere but Terry Makedon (head of CCC development at AMD) has just tweeted that a hotfix is coming out soon which officially brings MLAA to the 5xxx series.

    source

    Glad to see that they won't be keeping the new AA to sell new cards, and the fact he's said 5xxx means it isn't limited to the 58xx/59xx series of cards.

    **edit**

    I've heard that the hotfix driver is in the next 48 hours.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  2. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    880 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Granby, Qc. Canada
    Thank you for the good news Human Error, can't wait :toast:
     
  3. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,277 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    i bet it will come out at the same time I move to sell my 5850 lol. That's nice that they're working to support some of their older cards instead of just leaving them in the dust.
     
  4. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    when is it coming to the 4xxx series :D
     
  5. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,277 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Right when you shell out the dollaz for a 6970 to get some MLAA madness lol.
     
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,398 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,409
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nice to see, I havent really looked into it much at all, I know with fresh drivers it could be made to work, but I heard issues with it so I havent really bothered But if they are going to hotfix it in, maybe it's time for a fresh copy of windows and drivers.
     
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    It should be released sometime within the next 48 hours. But do you expect a driver hotfix on a Saturday? It would be the 1st if so.
     
  8. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    hmmmm interesting. sounds good though
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,241 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Great. Been using MLAA ever since its release on my HD5850 through driver hack. Can't wait to have it officially. It's the bast thing i've used in years. Though it's funny in some games. In GTA Vice City, during the day pretty bad aliasing is still visible, but during the night, everything is super smooth. It would be nice if there was some sort of sensitivity or aggressiveness adjustment for such cases. But still, even as it is, it's awesome.
     
  10. Rik55

    Rik55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    http://support.amd.com/la/kbarticles/Pages/GPU87AMDCat1010eHotfix.aspx
    (The Latin America AMD Spanish page Cat10.10e but it links to incorrect file name)

    Cat10.10e Hotfix Win7 9th Nov

    at this time, just click on the link below, no download manager required.

    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/203...hotfixes/catalyst_10.10e_hotfix_win7_nov9.exe

    plus update to the latest Catalyst App Profile 10.10CAP2 12 Nov 2010

    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/203...st_10.10_hotfixes/amd_catalyst_10.10_cap2.exe





    same notes as before except
    ■The AMD Catalyst Control Center now features the new AMD Catalyst AI user interface options on the ATI Radeon™ HD 5000 Series (the new AMD Catalyst AI options were previously only available for the AMD Radeon 6800 Series)”

    no Vista .inf again.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2010
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,241 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Strange. I had this Catalyst Ai option with one of the early 10.10 hotfix but was then gone with later ones. Now we're getting it back :D

    Anyway, i love this hotfix system. It's even better than whole ForceWare Beta frenzy i was used to when i had GeForce. New beta drivers were poping up like mushrooms after rain. But drivers with new settings, tweaks, enhancements and whole new features are even better. Keep em coming AMD :D

    EDIT:

    Catalyst 10.10e now available!

    DOWNLOAD:
    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/203...hotfixes/catalyst_10.10e_hotfix_win7_nov9.exe
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2010
    human_error says thanks.
  12. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    wft.... was 10.10c now is 10.10e were is d ?
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,241 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    It was there, you just missed it :p The most important fix for 10.10d was fix for MLAA that failed to work in some games (like new AvP).
     
  14. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    880 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Granby, Qc. Canada
    I just installed 10.10e, checked the MLAA box and now I get:
     

    Attached Files:

  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,241 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    That's why it also works in games where regular FSAA will never work. It works on any 3D accelerated surface, so if MSN Meswsenger and web browser are accelerated, they will get MLAA applied as well. Downside is that you get this blurry mess because it was not meant to filter such things.
     
    Loosenut says thanks.
  16. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    644
    Anyone else notice if you disable ULPS it still is active. I've checked my registry and it shows it being disabled too so idk.

    Anyway I think 10.11 must come this week because I updated my 890GX IGP to them through Windows updater.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page