1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Most graphically demanding games out now/near future for PC?

Discussion in 'Games' started by copenhagen69, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    I was just curious, I was wanting to test out my rig to see how well if performed against some of todays most graphically demanding games ... what do you all think the top 4-5 games would be.

    They can already be out on the market now or coming in near future - like a month or 2 at most. :toast:
  2. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Of all time: Crysis :roll:
  3. chris89 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    402 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    West Midlands, England, United Kingdom
    Have to suggest Crysis 1. Extremely demanding game.

    Also i would have to say FSX Fully maxxed, on DX10 settings at a busy airport such as JFK or Heathrow.

    Chris
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,978
    I just asked basically the same question a few days ago(my question was what game is there that my 5870 couldnt fully max out at 1920*1200 res and have over 60fps). Only game I was told was Metro2033.


    Oh, yeah, it can't do it with Crysis either(not 60fps that is)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    well crysis is a toss up between demanding and bad coding from everything I have seen people post ...

    How is homefront and bulletstorm and crysis 2?
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Read W1zz's 590 review and pick the games with the lowest fps scores.
    TheMailMan78, digibucc, wolf and 2 others say thanks.
  7. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    Metro 2033
    Crysis
    GTA IV

    All those are not optimized at all.
  8. Hms1193

    Hms1193 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    72 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Lahore, Pakistan
    Add Just Cause 2, Lost Planet 2 and Mafia 2 in that list too.. :cool:
  9. chris89 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    402 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    West Midlands, England, United Kingdom
    I have to say that Just cause 2 ran fine on my previous system, havent tested it again with ram & cpu.

    Have to agree on GTA IV, one of the worst optmized games made.

    Chris
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Minesweeper while running furmark in the background? (j/k)

    Different games will stress different parts of the system (some are more CPU intensive, some more GPU), so keep that in mind while doing your tests.
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    I think Metro 2033 is a tough one, also Starcraft 2 when you have billions of unit on screen (very cpu dependent too, keep that in mind). Lastly, Civ 5.

    Currently all the games are held back by this hardware called "gaming console". When this limitation is removed, then we can talk again. :)
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  12. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Just cause 2 is only tough if you run nvidia, shit load of useless cuda options that knock out half your performance.
  13. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Has anyone tried running Oblivion with the Graphic Overhaul V2.0 mod and a lot of shaders activated? That's pretty demanding at high res...

    Also the latest stalker was pretty tough on the video too, no?
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Get Starcraft 2. Then max the settings, then play a special forces map. It will bring ANY system to it's knees.
    Kursah says thanks.
  15. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    metro
    stalker CoP
    crysis
    mafia 2
  16. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    I picked up crysis 2 and shogun II

    I already have mafia and metro ...
  17. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    crysis 2 is quite easy to run though isnt it?
    my friend told me he got it running really fluid on his old c2d system with an 8800 ultra.
    mafia can be harsh if you enable the physx and run one video card.
    with metro several scenes have brought my system to its knees!
    i cried so i did!
  18. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,355 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    AZ
    I'd put world in conflict up there too when there's a lot of unit sin the game.
  19. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Metro2033 and Crysis
  20. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,591 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    Clear Sky and Pripyat are really GPU bound and very demanding but not on the cpu. Don't forget Cryostasis, it holds the record on my power meter for highest gaming power consumption while only using half a core on the cpu :laugh:; along with these three, the usual Crysis 2007, Warhead and Metro 2033.
  21. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    homefront is a great game but not super graphics intense. your gpu would rock in it because it would run physx on your gpu as well. Also bfbc2 is pretty demanding. the newer stalker game.
  22. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,350 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    add a nv gt240 for physx to that 5870 and youll do 60fps in metro and mafia and batman all max maxed
  23. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,144 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Did you disable Advanced PhysX and tesselation? Helps a lot, beside choosing medium quality. However, compared to Far Cry 2 on VH it will look uglier, while getting ~half the framerates. So definitely the game (M2033) is badly coded.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    i had everything maxed :)
    It was only a few scenes in the game,not enough to make me pause and adjust the settings-but it did bring home how what should be a pair of very good cards can be flattened by a recent game let alone one in 2-3 years.
    Quite good marketing really,give you just enough for today and no more so you come back tomorrow for your next serving of graphics card goodness
    farcry 2 gives me about 100 ish fps with everything maxed,and mafia2 is slightly higher with the second 470 doing max physx
    to be honest,i remeber playing crysis on an old athlon 3700 with a 8600gts and i am happy that i can even max the current games as a couple of years ago i bought gta4 for that old system and got like 1.5 fps!!
  25. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    Cryostasis

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page