1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Most powerful Gpu for this CPU

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Aleksander, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I was thinking of what could be the most powerful gpu my cpu can handle?
    Any ideas?
     
  2. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,105 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, there isnt really a hard and defined limit to it. It actually totally depends on what you want to run/play on your PC.

    So, what are you planning on running/playing on your PC? :D
     
  3. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Actually, i am not asking to buy the gpu, i am asking to know how much my cpu can handle when it comes to gpus.
    Or to say it better, i am asking which is the most powerful gpu that wont bottleneck with the cpu i have
     
  4. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,651 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    Mexico
    690GTX if you play @ 1440p 3D 120hz
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    239 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    North
    Only a dual-gpu card would be bottlenecked.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,105 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    if you want a singular answer, i'd also go with this:)
     
  7. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Ok, but why for example if i had a core i7 980 the game would run faster.
    That wouldn't be the gpu but i would gain frames because of the cpu?
    Thats the maximum the gpu can give to the game? But still the game needs more cpu power?
     
  8. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    You still not getting it. While your CPU my limit the performance of higher end GPUs, they will still muscle out more FPS because they are more powerful cards. If you are asking the best GPU you can buy without worrying about this limitiation, that is a very difficult question and a limiting one. All it will do is leave you in a position of more money being spent in the long road for upgrades later on.

    My best guess would be a ATI 6870 or Nvidia GTX 560Ti
     
  9. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Isn't the limitation you are talking about the same thing as bottleneck?
     
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,119 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    if the game doesnt use the cpu a whole lot then the skies the limit.. if the game is cpu dependant then the card u "bottlneck" at is gonna be lower on the totem pole.

    Basically your question sucks and has no exact answer.
     
  11. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Your current bottleneck is your monitor. At 1280 x 1024, there is no advantage to upgrading beyond the 6770 you have. Get a higher resolution monitor and then you can consider upgrading graphics cards.
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,899 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,307
    No. A bottleneck is when a CPU cannot process what the GPU is sending it fast enough. Meaning the CPU will be pegged around 100% usage and the GPU usage will be somewhere under that. There are certainly times where a system can use 100% of the GPU and the CPU will still slow the system down due to how the game uses the CPU.
     
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    I guess its clocked at 3.2GHz? id saying something around the 6950/7870 maybe?
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It depends on the game. When I had my Phenom II 940 running as my primary rig most games handled a single 6870 well but some games struggled when CPU was a limiting factor. So my answer is, "it depends on what games you're playing."
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page