1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard hunting.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Lightbulbie, Jul 14, 2014.

  1. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    825 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    http://us.msi.com/product/vga/N660_TF_2GD5OC.html
     
  2. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,049 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Did it die from the OC?
    I'd get a high end 990FX if I were you.
    Keep the 660 and wait for the 860 series. Don't bother with SLI.

    How about this?
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 AM3+ AMD 990FX
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157358
    review:
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/ASRock-990FX-Extreme9-Motherboard/1731/1

    or
    GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7 AM3+ AMD 990FX
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128508

    or
    ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131877
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2014
  3. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    825 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    Like I said. All temps were pretty good. The only thing that was OC'd is the GPU.
     
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    If the board is still under warranty why not check with Asus and get an RMA? If you get a new board back from Asus, you saved that money, sell your 660 and get a 770. That should hold you for another 2 yrs (may be). You probably won't need to change the PSU.
     
    Vario says thanks.
  5. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    825 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    I did a dumb and lost the receipt. Unless I can print it out from Newegg, I'm kinda out of luck. It's also over two months ago when I got it so eh..
     
  6. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,049 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Newegg you can go back quite a ways. I bet you can get the receipt off of the Egg easily.
    However I'd still buy a new board, (use Amazon, they are easier to return too if you get a DOA out of box) and then RMA old board, when you get your replacement, sell it.
     
    xvi and Lightbulbie say thanks.
  7. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    825 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    Yeah, the M5A97 R2.0 was good but I'm still not going to run with it again.
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    He said $125 max for the board. Those definitely don't fall under that.
     
  9. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    315 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    The UD3 is a good board for the price.
     
    Lightbulbie says thanks.
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I have the UD3, its a good board, but bit tricky with OCing and S3 sleep.
     
  11. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    825 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    I'm not a big overclocker, so that helps.
     
  12. 64K

    64K

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    718 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    I can't know for sure where PC gaming requirements are going to be a few years from now but I do expect that there will be some games that will be limited by 2 GB VRAM even at 1080p. Maxing out all games isn't important to everyone. If that is important to you then it's something to consider. Honestly my opinion is that you should just wait on GTX 860 or GTX 870 if budget will allow after saving some more $$$. We're nearing the end of the Kepler cycle. Depending on what Nvidia sets the retail prices at will determine if they're a good value though.
     
  13. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,049 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Not buying a second 660 for sli would give him the cash for a better mobo.
     
  14. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    825 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    I don't care for godly-grade things. I just want something that works and will work for a good amount of time. Had I been wanting something big in the first place, I would've went with a Sabertooth or so.
     
  15. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    315 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    I'd say get an intel, upgrade GPU to a maxwell or R9 300 series, and be happy.

    You are probably going to run into bottlenecks on your CPU if you run 2 660s...
     
  16. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    825 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    So get the ASUS RMA, sell my FX and that board, and go for Intel? What on earth is a good combo that'll work around $400? And the only bottlenecks I've had in the games I've played are GPU.
     
  17. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    315 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    i5 4690k and a Z97-A?

    Well under $400

    I'd expect you will see quite a bit of bottlenecking on that 6300 (especially at stock) once you go SLI 660s or a single 870 or something like that.
     
  18. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    825 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    Could I get those two for $325?
     
  19. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,049 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Microcenter you can usually get an i5 and a decent motherboard for $300 with the combo.

    If you did want to go Intel you can buy a used i7 2600k for around $180-200 and a 1155 z68/77 mobo for around $60-100. i5 2500k can be found for $140.

    There is this
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/2600k-and-asus-p8p67-pro-b3.143914/

    A $180 990FX is not godly grade. It is adequate for long term use. A reliable mobo is money well spent, for the FX a good VRM section helps a lot.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2014
  20. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Without going to all those review sites, how do I check for 'bottleneck' with my current gaming system?
     
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,666 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Is your GPU running at 100% usage in whatever game you're playing most of the time when v-sync is off? If it's not, something other than your GPU is slowing rendering down and it would probably be the CPU in most cases.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  22. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,049 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I've found that good steady minimum frame rate indicates your CPU is adequate.
     
  23. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    95% of time I play BF4 and sometimes go back to BF3 (both games of course multi-player). Video settings are set at Auto, which defaults to all High. Using Perfoverlay command I see the FPS ranging from 80 to 110 and occasional drop to 60's when lot of smoke, fog or too many players. If I set to all ULTRA, FPS drops to below 60 and sometimes painful. According to GPUZ my GPU is working hard around 90 to 98%. Task Manager shows all 8 cores loaded and load varies from 40 to 50%. I have enabled Mantle.

    Is this a good sign?
     
  24. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,049 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    When you overclock the 8350, do you get a large bump in frame rate or is it miniscule?
     
  25. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    from 4 to 4.2 I don't see any difference unless I run the built-in test, which shows I gained 1 to 2 FPS depending on which map I run it.

    But OC my 7950 from stock clock 960 to 1150 gives me much better experience, smooth game play and no stuttering.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page