1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard hunting.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Toothless, Jul 14, 2014.

  1. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,286 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,449
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    In big games I play, it's normally the CPU hitting 50-60% and my GPU hitting 70-90%.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    So I'd say its not a CPU bottleneck for you, assuming the built-in test shows minimum frame rate and not max fps.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  3. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,286 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,449
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    So I thought it over and I'm going to try for an Intel build. I have everything but the board and CPU. So I was thinking at least a 3570k but I have no brains when it comes to Intel boards.
    Budget for the moment is $325.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    747 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    600watt is more than enough, just buy a good brand like corsair and make sure the psu has enough connectors for the gpu's

    a single 660 uses max 140, so if u have the ti version it's maybe 160 a card
    so 2x160watts +130 for most amd cpu's maybe 30watts voor mb 40watts voor fans and drives
    =~460 watts
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2014
  5. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Socket 1155 or 1150? 1150 is probably the way to go to get the latest (Devils Canyon).
     
  6. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,286 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,449
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    1155 will let me run the 3570k.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    598 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Yeah but you can get 4690k.

    Unless you already have a 3570k I'd suggest going with the most current architecture. And if you do get a Z97 board now you have the potential to upgrade to a Broadwell CPU.

    $325 is a bit tight for an i5 and board.

    If you are not going to spend a huge amount on a board, the Z97-A from Asus is a pretty good option. Otherwise, if you are willing to go with a Z87 board, the Z87x-D3H, UD3H, and UD4H are really good boards. The build quality is great, but the feature set might be a bit bland for some people's taste, they often can be found floating around each other's price brackets.
     
    Toothless says thanks.
  8. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,286 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,449
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    Well I am planning on staying with a single-GPU setup. A Z87 won't bother me if a 970 ran with me perfectly fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    598 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    The main problem with Z87 is that it probably will not support Broadwell CPUs, so you will be stuck on Gaswell as far as upgrades go. Also, you might not be able to get a 4690k to run without having another CPU (4670k for example) to flash the BIOS.
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,594 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,492
    Not to mention there are reports of people putting their Devil's Canyon chips in Z87 boards and the board giving the chip 1.5v+ at first boot!
     
    Vario says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
  12. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    598 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    I'd still suggest Z97 over the older platforms. The new platform is a lot more versatile as far as I/O goes.
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,594 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,492
    Agreed, and you can get a really good bang for the buck board(like the Z97 Extreme6) for under $150.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,286 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,449
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    Well it depends how much I can sell my FX-6300 for, going by my M5A97 didn't kill that too.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    You should be able to get $80-100 for it on eBay, or try forum classifieds.
     
  16. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,286 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,449
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    Or try here. Time to make a heatware.
     
    Vario says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,286 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,449
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    Okay so this went from trying SLI to needing a way to get a 4690k/3570k+motherboard combo. PROGRESS MY FRIENDS. THIS IS PROGRESS.
     
    GorbazTheDragon says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,206 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072
    He killed his mobo on purpose...
     
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,019 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,160
    Location:
    Pune
    i woudnt be surprized if the 97 evo killed your chip. i put mine in a mates asus and it sent 1.5v even though i manually set it at 1.4. asus is horrible now. their boards die too frequently and after i have shifted to asrock my life has been better.
     
  20. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,286 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,449
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    It wasn't an EVO. It was just the normal M5A97 R2.0. I also checked the core voltage on CPU-Z and AIDA64 and made sure that the core voltage was never above 1.41v. BIOS checked and everything.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,019 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,160
    Location:
    Pune
    mine was a revision one that i put on. thats why they were scrapped. anyway asus isnt good. stay away from them until they fix their issues.
    having a top of the range motherboard but having it fail after months -> only happens in asus.
     
    Toothless says thanks.
  22. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    I think you will "feel" the difference, I went from Phenom II @ 4.0 to Ivy Bridge and the speed boost was very noticeable.
     
  23. XSI

    XSI

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    347 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    Vilnius. Lithuania
    Maybe its just me, but 2x660 sli would be much better for gaming improvement compare to platform change. Let see 10-20% improvement maybe in some cases because of new cpu+mb. Up to +90% from sli. If your goal is gaming with better fps, i would go sli.
    p.s. can u borrow another 660 just to try it?
     
  24. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    In the long term the CPU upgrade would be better, he would probably be able to go for another 4-6 years before a 4790 becomes too slow and obsolete.
     
    XSI says thanks.
  25. XSI

    XSI

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    347 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    Vilnius. Lithuania
    i've read the starting post. i didnt take into account his MB is broken. so in this case he needs new MB. so platform change is more relevant.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page