1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard pick

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by SK-1, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    I am looking for a new motherboard to replace my 780i. I am a little out of touch with the latest enthusiast boards, so I need your help. What should be the new home for my E6850 and 8800 G92s to nestle in?
    The budget is around 270.00-$280.00, other than that, I am open to any brand or features.
    All right guys,...let em rip.
     
  2. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    There really isn't much else man... If you want SLI you got the 780 or 790 based boards really... and that's it.
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, +1

    And I don't think 790i is in that price range yet, plus you would have to buy new ram. You could consider buying used.
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  4. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Agreed, there's no reason to upgrade your mobo yet.
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  5. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    try xfx 790 it is cool
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  6. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Well, I thank you all for the honest responses.I guess its 780i or 790, whichever I can get a good deal on. I m a little hesitant on a used M/B.
     
  7. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Will the 680i chipset support Wolfdale?
     
  8. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    No they'll only do 65nm. I would either go w/ a 750i, another 780i, or really I would sell both gts's for a 280 or 4870 and get a p45.
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Pretty much any P45 mobo. 500FSB+ goodness @ 1.2\3v NB, PCIE 2.0, etc etc.
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    He has an SLI setup. P45 is out.
     
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I might be mixing 2 things into one which I've read, but I think the P45 can do SLi hoodwinked style.
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not on the 8800 and up series cards.
     
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    EVGA 750i FTW, ftw :rockout: , lol!
     
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    whats wrong with the 780i, theres always the evga 780i FTW
     
  15. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Dont like x80i series mobos. dont like any nvidia mobo after trouble we have had. but have been told that the x50i's are better if you can find a none reference one which has two full x16 slots. hence the 750i FTW!

    I think 790i is the best chip (not just on paper) as it is the only proper new chip, but ddr3 only sucks plus its really expensive.
     
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    O yea thats right, nVidia started encoding their drivers or something so new support couldnt be hacked in. Talk about anal and gay of them :rolleyes:
     
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    At least they have seen the light and are allowing SLi on the X58. Hopefully sli will be enabled on all new intel chips from now on. Then they will bring theselves back up for contending. Compared to intel, nvidia chipsets really suck IMO. Especially with quads!
     
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    never had a probelm with mine, im waiting for the socket 1366 nvidia boards to upgrade, and mine board oc a quad fine
     
  19. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You are running a dual core, so it will be fine. We just cant get my dads setup working with a quad for love nor money.
     
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    2 of my mates run the same board one with a Q6600 at 4.2Ghz stable no problems on air cooling, and the other with a 45nm Q9450 at 4Ghz
     
  21. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Thats why I asked if the CPU could be faulty, but apprently its either, stable, unstable (due to heat/OC) or dead. :(

    So I have literally run out of ideas.
     
  22. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    so hes got a 780i or 750i board ? and are you talking about not working at stock? have you update the bios?
     
  23. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    No they don't. There's no way to have a Q6600 at 4.2ghz ON AIR unless he lives in Antarctica, same with a Q9450. There's also no way to push that on an 750/780 chipset. Most Intel based chipsets will struggle to push those chips that far because of limitations on the chip and Intel chipsets FAR out-overclock their nvidia counterparts.

    I say they send in screenshots or its false.
     
  24. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Its the rig in my sig. bios is latest. it also did the same thing on his previous mobo an XFX 680i LT. this is the second mobo, we have tried every component change except CPU. Although I'm still thinking it could be PSU, despite trying mine...
     
  25. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Its up to him it runs at 52c on load and don't tell me it can't be done when i know it can, 780i boards are fine for ocing qauds, the 680i had problems and Q9450 he could push higher if he wanted to.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page