1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

motherboard repair

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by gmastra100, Jul 31, 2013.

1. gmastra100 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi
    I recently acquired a "new" motherboard, however when I installed it , No fans or POST, no sound just the green stby power LED. I paid via paypal so I opened a case. To my amazement , I was given a full refund and told I could keep the board.
    So I am on the lookout for another 990FX board bargain. ( recently saw a gigabyte UD-7 go for sub £100 )
    My question
    Has anybody attempted repairing a Sabertooth 990FX Rev 2.0 ?
    Before I consign it to the wheelie bin, I wanted to check there wasn't a regulator chip , that may have acted as a "fuse"
    I am an electronics engineer so have the skills to repair motherboards ( not BGA )
    but any help gratefully accepted.

thanks

2. ruff0r

ruff0r

Thanks Received:
    Rest the bios, Take out the battery....look at the jumpers on the board if they are corectly and none missing. (if it has any)
    If that dosn´t help you may make an Asus support ticket with the serial number you hopefully have and try to get it replaced.

3. drdeathx

drdeathx

Thanks Received:
    It could be a grounding problem. Pull the board out of the case and build the system on the motherboard box. Sometimes there is a standoff grounding or a wire to the case power/reset button. building it outside take grounding issue out of the equation. Good Luck.

95Viper says thanks.
  4. Hood

Hood

Thanks Received: