1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard replacement

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Kofoed, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi, after a time i have been thinking of upgrading my motherboard, i know mostly of here have build their own system, i have not :shadedshu.. However i got the Dell XPS 630i.
    But i have allways hated the mobo, but before i do buy another i want to know, is it even possible, or is the dell power supply specific to that motherboard, i know dell done that before, but other changed their mobo, but they were going with nvidia chipset and such
    the standart chipset is nvidia *Nforce 650i SLI* and they were just changing to 790 ect, im going for the *Asus Rampage formula* if possible. Because i am useing crossfire and not SLI.

    Thanks you :D
     
  2. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Most dell systems are BTX based motherboards and cases. So check to make sure this isnt the case here. BTX is where the IO ports are along the right side on the back.

    ASUS make great motherboards for overclocking. Your powersupply should have the 24pin connecter and a 4+4 or 8 pin for the cpu. It should also have probably 600watts or more for a modern crossfire setup.
     
  3. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    The form of the motherboard should be ATX, but you might be right, i should proberly check to make sure about that.
    Aswell my power supply have 750W
     
  4. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    If it's the scenario. You can spend a little over $100 and get the nice midtower Antec 900. Very nice case cooling. A buddy and my brother both have it.

    You using a 775 socket cpu or something amd?
     
  5. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    I don't know about the socket, i am running Intel dou core E8500 Wolfdale
    And the form is ATX, and the asus motherboard is also, so it should match, aswell this cage is kickass if you ask me :p try youtube the dell xps 630 lights or something, you can change the lights and so on.
     
  6. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    You HAVE to know what socket yours is. The E8500 is 775 socket with 45nm support. So the motherboard you pick needs that. Make sure it also has IDE ports if you have an IDE drive (its probably sata). Also make sure the 2 pciex16 are both x16. IT will say somewhere in the description if one will only run at 8x. Some cheaper crossfire boards have this.
     
  7. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Okay, i have checked the socket, and it match, i found the proccesor i have and it match, I have 1 Sata drive.
    and both PCI slots are running at x16 speed.

    Anything else?
    I have checked mostly of the things, i am just thinking about the power supply, dell have done some stupid things with their power supply before.. :)
     
  8. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Well you could drop some money on a corsair or something else as good. But if it handled your current setup and has the plugs as i said above then it should be just fine.

    Make sure the board has pci regular slots if you have any devices.

    One weird thing, this may not be the case. But does the motherboard and case have irregular screw placements? So you could only install dell brand motherboards? Weird thought, but it came to me.
     
  9. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Well.. i don't think the screws are any difference. However.. Is there anyway that i can check the screws work for the other motherboard?
    I just saw one on the site, "my630i.com" Who had Asus maximus ii formula, or something, i guess that this motherboard would match than?
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page