1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Morgoth, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    hi i'm looking for a AGP8x mother board with the following stuff it needs

    CPU socket 478 (400fsb/533fsb) ( sould able to run from 2 ghz to 3ghz or more )
    3 or 4 Sdram pc133 sockets ( the board sould able to handle 3 or 4 gigabyte
    a AGP 8x socket
    ATA/IDE cabel connectors (harddisk and cdrom ect)
    and sould be anabled to overlock in bios or in software
    4 or more pci slots

    my budget is 80 euro

    anny one know some great boards?
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2007
  2. bassmasta Guest

    i thought sd ram was for laptops
     
  3. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Wrong, But seriously you should invest in new tech instead of old old tech.
     
  4. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    He is right.... take that money and put it towards a 775 or a AM2 motherboard
     
  5. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i dont have the money for that to buy new crap so i'm looking for a agp8x sdramm board so i can use my cpu, gpu ect on it
     
  6. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Thats why you save the money... 80 euro is a good start
     
  7. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    google "socket 478 motherboard" and you find whats out there and where to buy it.

    there are only 3 or 4 boards left that are made for the 478 and they are all micro atx
     
  8. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309

    Gigabyte still makes them, I think
     
  9. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    only i can find is agp4x with 3gbmax sdram
     
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    May be worth looking into switching to ddr,may be able to find a less expensive motherboard and get a 1GB pc3200 stick.
     
  12. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    hmm i might bether buy a new comp there is no schipset that supports sdram pc133 and agp8x
     
  13. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Seriously save your money and invest, theres no point to buy what you want now because its basically useless not to be mean. You can get a cheap as dirt am2 dual core combo or like someone offered on here some really cheap stuff we sell in the buy/sell/trade part of the forum.
     
  14. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    ^Agree.

    Still I would find a motherboard like the Asrock DualVSTA and grab a new CPU as well as RAM.
     
  15. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
  16. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
  17. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    lol ok thx i think i save some money and stay a while with this system it ist that bad atm :) specialy this is the only sdram system that can go to 3gb :D
     
  18. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    So will you roll with AMD or Intel when you change.
     
  19. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    intel
     
  20. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    I agree. I am an intel fan myself.
    Although I am sure plenty would argue that AMD are better:laugh:
     
  21. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Sometimes it better to save and start again, then basically trying to upgrade an old system (sorry, but its true)

    Like Ive said before, "you cant polish a turd" :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page