1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboards with Revised Intel 8-series Chipset to Show up by September

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Motherboards running C2-stepping Intel 8-series chipsets should begin surfacing on the market in September 2013, according to a DigiTimes report. The C2-stepping addresses a design flaw in the 8-series chipset's integrated USB 3.0 host controllers, which causes connected devices to improperly reinitialize after the system resumes from a sleep state such as S3 (suspend-to-RAM), forcing users to unplug and replug such devices; which can particularly be an irritant for people running USB 3.0 external RAID boxes.

    The USB 3.0 erratum came to public light a bit too late for Intel to delay the June launch of its 4th generation Core "Haswell" processors platform. By the time it emerged that Intel was working on the C2-stepping, production of socket LGA1150 motherboards were already on full-swing, and at the time it was predicted that motherboards with the rectified chipsets would fill up inventory by late-Q3 or early-Q4, 2013. This update point out at September checks out.

    [​IMG]

    Source: DigiTimes
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Might be worth waiting till sept then before buying a Haswell board.
     
  3. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    LOL remember Intel's last debacle? with the P67 motherboards.
     
  4. birdie

    birdie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    98 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Source?
     
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That was a much more major issue. You don't lose any data with this USB 3.0 erratum.
     
  6. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    754 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Hey just ship the crap, consumers won't notice. If they do tell em it's an isolated issue with their equipment. They'll never know... It's the Intel way. Never let honesty and quality get in the way of exploitation and corporate profits. ;)
     
  7. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    599 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    dadadada lol new revision already out, yet so far no one is saying how to telll. Fix is by Microsoft patches already available.
     
  8. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Exactly... The SATA issue didnt really affect a lot of people either. If you only rocked a couple of drives on the sata ports, you were fine. The more used, the faster that issue could pop up.

    Yeah, this issue isn't worth waiting to buy IMO. I mean disable sleep if it gets annoying. :)
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I get devices going into sleep and not waking...WHEN I"M USING THEM. USB Audio devices just simply disappear.

    NO avoiding the problem for me.


    ALso, I have SSDs that cause stability issues, or fail to post. IF they can fix these issues, I'm all for it.
     
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    LOL if that is part of the problem, first I heard of that, then yeah, seems more of a problem. But I don't use the mostly jenky USB audio. Sounds terrible to me through there!

    So far across......oof... OCZ Vertex 2, Agility 3, SanDisk Extreme II, AData SX900, Vertex 4, and Vector, no issues on MPower MAX, XPower, or Biostar Hi-Fi.

    What SSDs and what boards did that happen to?
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    OCZ Vertex2 (oczssd2-2vtxe60g)

    and Corsair F60 (cssd-f60gb2)

    Same problems on every board I've tested to date. Drives work fine via USB dock, however(I'm using the F60 for USB3 testing in my reviews even), and also work fine when connected via secondary ASMedia SATA controllers.
     
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,197 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    All the more reason to stick with 1155 for the time being
     
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    That is the same Vertex 2 I am using...and is in fact the primary drive my reviews were completed on (actually, I think the MPower MAX was with vertex 3 but flipped back to that drive for other testing) interesting. It was connected to the native sata ports when used them.

    +1 to Fourstaff...for different reasons. Nobody using s1155 should be making this leap in the first place...
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure you don't have one of the Indilux-based Vertex2's? From what ASUS rep on XS said, it was a known issue with SandForce-based drives.

    The drives:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Not sure to be honest. Its a 60GB Vertex 2 (not home or I would check).

    The Agility 3 is SF based though. And IIRC, so is the ADATA? Iunno. is this only on ASUS boardS?
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    nope, not just ASUS, MSI and Gigabyte as well. I even pulled the back of the Vertex to make sure the FLT light wasn't lit. Some boards can't complete POST, some can post, but after RST driver is installed, drive fails to load windows.


    Any help you got for this is appreciated.;)
     
  17. Svarog

    Svarog

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    183 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Pfft Sleepmode is for lazy people.
     
  18. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    I have nothing at this time. Thankfully, I have not run into this issue. I can try though as I have a couple of SF based SSDs. Is there a particular SF controller? The 2281?
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    SATA 3 Gb/s drives only. so SF-1200-based drives. My ForceGT 60 GB drive and Crucial M4 128 GB work perfectly.

    Raja's posts, for edification:

    FIND IT HERE

    and

    HERE TOO
     
    EarthDog says thanks.
  20. arbiter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    222 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    This is pretty much a Minor is, If you don't use sleep state, never have a problem. With an SSD machine boots pretty fast so full shutdown is kinda best idea
     
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The black USB 2.0/1.1 ports are unaffected. Plug your audio devices to those ports, use a USB 2.0/1.1 bracket if you've run out of black ports on the rear panel.
     
  22. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Australia
    wow Intel have been pretty reliable but their last 2 platforms have had problems severe enough for a revision.

    Even if the issues doesn't affect you, or there is ways around it, no one wants a flawed system. You shouldn't have to disable stuff to avoid problems.

    I cant see how they didnt discover this fault earlier....seems pretty straight forward.
     
  23. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,251 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    For desktops...maybe, for laptops is a must. I don't like to wait for a laptop to reboot everytime I close the lid.
     
    btarunr says thanks.
  24. arbiter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    222 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Don't really need to use sleep state outside say a laptop. If your computer has an SSD, there isn't much diff in start time from sleep mode to a boot from being completely off anymore.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page