1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mouse cursor slows down when over "Minimize,Maximize,Close"

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Swamp Monster, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    Today after installing Catalyst 11.1 drivers I noticed when I place mouse cursor over "Close" box in Microsoft explorer or any window that is maximized and if I want to move mouse cursor fast to the left, then it doesn't do it fluently, but with added latency. It jumps not moves. Is it normal behavior? It remains me about old days when my games lagged when I fastly turned around with mouse, or to be more precise - Half life 2 moving lag, when it continued moving when on slippery surfaces:(

    *edit* It drives me crazy.
    It's hard to press Maximize or minimize when moving from Close to the left fast. It jumps over that boxes.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,540 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    have you try to unistall the driver and reboot, sometimes it solved after its redetected
     
    Swamp Monster says thanks.
  3. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,619 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,738
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    No, that is not normal. I had the same problem at first when I installed the 11.1a drivers.

    Sorta what micropage7 said...

    I used device manager to remove the mouse, keyboard, related usb hubs\controllers.
    Then let windows re-discover the devices.

    Re-booted...

    After that, I went to the mouse settings and turned off and then on, the precision pointer option.

    I, then, flushed the icon cache and re-set the driver pre-fetcher.

    Pain in butt, but cured it.

    If you google "mouse lag in windows 7 with amd ccc 11.1" you see that since 10.2 that problem has been around.

    Goodluck. :)
     
    Swamp Monster says thanks.
  4. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,247 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    Do you have the usb filter installed? If so you've seen my comments in the other threads so I would start with that.

    Also what IE are you using just to see if it is effecting me.
     
    Swamp Monster says thanks.
  5. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    Thanks 95Viper! I almost started to think that it is some sick feature of M$:laugh:
    It really looks like pain in ass to solve it, I might just live with that for a while.

    To Micropage7: I haven't tried it, but I will when I have time for this.

    To mastdrver: Few months ago I installed USB filter driver and my mouse and all USB devices stopped working, since then I am afraid to install that driver and have not installed it now. I might have done it wrong, because I remember that I did something "manually":D The reason was- filter driver was not showing up in CCC installer or it was not installing on it's own, I can't remember now.

    *edit* It actually happens in top right corner of screen no matter if application is maximized or not.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  6. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    I am sure now that it is Radeon driver bug and I hope they fix it soon. It doesn't happen in games, only in Windows desktop.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,934 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,231
    i'd do a complete uninstall of the AMD drivers, particularly the mobo ones.


    reboot and fresh install them - it DOES sound like your USB driver has borked somehow
     
  8. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    I listened to 95Viper's advice and googled it. it turns out that internet is full of mouse lag problems related to 11.1. Both wired and wireless mouse. This mouse lag is even mentioned in AMD 11.1 blog's comments. it affects users only in top right corner of screen and for some people in lower right corner too.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,934 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,231
    hmmm...


    might explain why the problem came back for me, after being missing for ages. i did actually get an AHCI (AMD) related BSOD when it hit its worst too (but at the time, i did have 3 gazillion file transfers happening)
     
  10. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    So you had mouse lag too, or what problem did you mean?
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,934 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,231
    while i had about 500MB/s of transfers happening and 5 of my 6 CPU cores maxed out, yes.


    basically the mouse would stutter around a lot, and maybe one time in 3 one of my external drives would disconnect when the stutter had finished. (this may have just been that the system wasnt responding for too long and the HDD's didnt like it)


    eventually i disconnected the enclosure which caused the BSOD, so i never knew if it was my E-sata card (silicon image) or the enclosure - but the fact the AMD AHCI driver was mentioned in the eventual BSOD and this thread makes me think it may have been something else (the new drivers, which i had just updated to)


    With mine it wasnt just that the mouse stopped responding, the system WOULD freeze completely, for those few seconds.
     
  12. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    Ok, I understand now. I think your issue was because system was fully loaded and/or sata controller couldn't keep up. With my PC it happens when idle, nothing is loaded, almost no resources used.

    *edit* Only time when something similar happened was some time ago when I was watching BD Rip. Suddenly my Aero theme changed to basic and CPU, GPU was 100% loaded. that continued about 1 minute and then all was normal again. Then my PC lagged too, but that is normal when everything is loaded 100%. I read somewhere that this could happen when player cannot decide which codec to use.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,934 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,231
    yeah but it was also right after i updated the drivers to the new ones.


    it might not be related - but i'm not ruling it out. will wait and see if the problem occurs again later.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page