1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Moving to the dark side !!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Vic-Dog, May 14, 2008.

  1. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Check my specs to see what I'm running.
    I've always been an AMD fanboy but I'm not happy with
    the performance I'm getting, So after a couple of posts
    looking for advise on the best way to upgrade my system
    I came to the conclusion that I need a new mobo.
    Looking at the AMD mobos I felt that I was kind of at the
    low end of the gaming curve unless I spend $200+ on a
    newer proc also. So I started looking at Intel
    When I looked at the upgrade path in processors I saw that
    price wise I think Intel will give me a better shot for a noticible
    increase in performance... But I don't know much about Intel
    processors or related mobos. Bottom line: If my budget is
    about $350 what Intel chip/mobo would you suggest. I'm
    pretty good with overclocking and such, Just an Intel noob!
     
  2. Duxx Guest

    350$ aint bad at all. I'm looking to get a E8400 in the near future, coupled with any decent P35 board should do u well :)
     
  3. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    I really like Intel setups. I just run AMD cause it was cheep when I bought everything.

    I'd go with a Abit IP35-e mobo, with a Core2Duo E8400, and 4GB DDR2.
     
  4. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    He's already has ram. Id say go with a E8400, and a decent P35 board, ASUS P5K, ASUS P5K-e, the gigabyte GA-P35-DSL line i believe, or the Abit as mentioned above.
     
  5. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    Any socket 775 Abit or Asus with the P35 chipset, and a E8x00 should do great!
     
  6. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Does PciE-2.0 make a big difference over 1.0
    if I'm just going to use the single 9800 GTX
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    TBH, not really much of a difference. Best bet for any type of upgrade from the 5000BE with an Intel switch, the pocessor would have to be anything above an e4600, although I suggest looking at the e7200.

    As far as motherboard is concerned, DFI BloodIron, Asus P5K-e, or an MSI P7N Platinum.
     
  8. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,201 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,198
    Location:
    Ohio
    Code:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115052  $134.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813136045 +[u]$196.99[/u]
                                                                    =$331.98
    :p code needed for nice formatting :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You're making a smart decision here. I always thought the "dark side" thing was a load of crap. It's just juvenile to pledge allegiance to any brand. They are all trying to make money. Going where the performance is is just smart. $350 will buy you some great performance. I'd go with an e8400, and a good p35 or 750i.
     
  10. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,314 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Now I must kill you ;)
    -10 for falling prey to the pull of the darkside :slap:
    Its all good. I am going to build the wifes new system on Intel. Not sure what yet. Will be my first non-AMD build ever. :D
     
  11. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    If you are a new to intel. I suggest start with a cheap intel proc incase you fry a high end chip. And are you going to do xfire/sli, if you are then go for the X38 or X48 boards. If you are really interest in learning new stuff then buy a DFI X38 DK or LT. E2180 and E4300's should be a good start.
     
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,040 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,228
    Location:
    US
    Just woundering if the upgrades actually worth while. I upgraded from a 3800 x2 and to be honest i wish i didn't. Thats coming from a hardcore gamer.

    How ever much better for benchmarking. And if that counts maybe same mobo and CPU i have or even a quad if you can afford it.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,161 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,433
    asus P5K-E is a great starters board. it has official 400 FSB support, so overclocking is piss easy until that point.

    My advice is to aim for a CPU with a higher multi and higher cache. You can get say, an E2160 with tiny cache, but a good multi and OC the heck out of it (200FSB stock upto 400 = double clocks, if your cooling can make it) Otherwise any conroe based chip is a winner. That includes the E6xx0 series, Q6600, or one of the new 45nm chips (the 45nm chips start at 333FSB, so they dont overclock as easy. please keep that in mond)
     
  14. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,613 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea i agree, im wondering if its worth the upgrade to, far as i can tell his system is fine =/

    Anyway just wondering what was the reason why you wished you didn't upgrade your system?
     
  16. Dia01

    Dia01

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,184 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    When has Intel Been the Dark Side, i always Remember AMD being the dark side.
     
  18. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    "you dont know the power of the darkside!"

    im jk im not picky about intel or amd both are good for different things...ive always been more of a budget minded builder so ive always stuck with amd because prices are usually lower but im sure you wont be disappointed with your so called move to the darks side...
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,184 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    first Neutral Opinion ive seen on here.
     
  20. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    yea its to bad you dont see it more often on the forum...fanboy stuff gets old...paulieg pretty much summed it up nicely in post 9
     
  21. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,317 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    For the money, I'd go Q6600. You get twice the performance in encoding, or (de)compressing zip files etc. You get mixed gains in photoshop. You get little gains in gaming (with current games). But the Q6600 will overclock to E8200 speeds without blinking.

    If you want to play the über-overclocker then, yes, you will get the E8200 faster than a Q6600, such that it will play todays games (a bit) faster than a Q6600. But the Q6600 will still win on encoding tasks, etc.

    The Q6600 is also nice because you can set the PC up to do some task (e.g. encode a CD or DVD), and you can still use the machine for other things without any lag issues.
     
  22. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    the only problem with the q6600 is the ones currently being released dont overclock near as well as the older ones.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,184 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    yup
    forced poor production so they can sell the Q9300.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,161 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,433
    i even started a thread about that here on TPU, the bad quads. its ok as long as you get one with a pack date before 2008, however.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page