1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mozilla Firefox 4 Web-Browser Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    I may load this on my grandmother's PC... the current version she has is soo buggy it won't even let her update. As for my pc i'll keep chrome.
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,399 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Whats up with the screen fonts now, whatever it is I don't like it.:wtf:

    It does seem a lot faster tho
    BazookaJoe says thanks.
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Just noticed the fonts changed too :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I updated! :D It look Kewn but half my plug-ins were out of date apparently and i had to remove them. And GPU-z reports some GPU usage which is pretty cool too.

    Attached Files:

  5. Taskforce Guest

    No prob, can't surf the net without it, haven't watched or seen an advertisement in years, works even for youtube, would go as far as to say it's 100% effective, it's like spraying cockroach... next min they're all gone.
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    :confused: What's the font issue? Can someone post a good-quality screenshot?

    I've been using v.4 for quite some time now, the only glitch was youtube videos - I had to disable hardware acceleration for them to work. Now all seems fine.
  7. horik

    horik

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I see 46% GPU usage in FF4 vs 1% with IE8 at home page,but now FF seems faster.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  8. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Adblocking is not very nice to the site owners tho, which make their hosting money through the very same adds you just blocked. I try to block only the really annoying adds that are flashing and blinking all the time.
  9. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,047 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    880
    Granted that is true, but I have a program at work that loads a list of servers and when it loads, firefox freezes nearly every time. I'm tired of it not working when I need it to.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,204 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    So far so good, defo seems loads faster at the moment, I like the new look to very simple, Thats all i gotta say about it.
  11. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    560 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Latvia
    You can change font type and size under options/content;)


    *edit*
    interesting, others report GPU usage around 40%, but I have around 6 average and about 15 max. HW acceleration is enabled. This is when watching 720p videos. Any ideas?
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  12. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    Is it in youtube? How many tabs open?
    I just checked mine with youtube fullscreen it's 6-7% usage, occasionally going up to 12% and back to 0%, might be because it's a different gpu from yours, or because I've got hardware acceleration disabled (if I enable it youtube doesn't work). :confused:
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  13. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    if u can remember multiple random generated 12-24 key pw then go right ahead, i preffer to have one master key to remember

    back to topic, hopefully kaspersky make an update so i can run it on ff4
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  14. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    560 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Latvia
    I manually enabled HW accel in about:config menu too, and still low GPU usage, buut everything works well. Youtube works too with it enabled for me.

    *edit* I heard that they are not planning to release 64-bit version because there is no working 64-bit flash plugin.
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Hmm, where's the non-beta 64 bit version? I thought this would be it...
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Wah?

    That's been a feature in firefox since for ever pretty much.
  17. ROad86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes it does and it is very annoying! Can we do somethnig about it?

    I remove hardware accelaration and it did worked but it feels a lot slower now. Is there any other option?
  18. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    365 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Am I the only person who has never had any problems with Firefox?

    Using 4.0 right now. Reminds me very much of Chrome.
  19. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Haven't seen anything to help it, and it doesnt seem like a screen cap can capture what I am seeing. Its just a slight blur/fuzziness/softness that isn't there with HW accel disabled.
    ROad86 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. ROad86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes its annoying though. And at inetrnet exploer 9 happens sometimes. Only chrome is the one I haven't see this. I hope it will be fixed with the updates.
    theonedub says thanks.
  21. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    OMFG it's like 10 X faster my theme no longer works but I don't care it's faster!
  22. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    :shadedshu still have the Hardware acceleration issue WTF:confused: :wtf:
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    I'm really liking this, new fonts, smoother interface, and the design just works for me.

    still works with all my addons too, except for IDM, mite need to upgrade to a new one...

    don't know about faster but it's definitely smoother, especially with smooth scrolling on. I've heard it's faster because of hardware acceleration, but I didn't find an option to enable or disable that, where is it?
  24. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Go to Options -> Advanced -> General TAB
    :)
    wolf says thanks.
  25. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    loving the new FF.. been using it for awhile now

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page