1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mozilla Ready with Firefox 7 Aurora Build

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Company-internal release, maybe. Or if one is on 5 (like me) and 7 is out, 6 will be skipped.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Nope, I'm local admin here and free to install whatever I want.
  3. EarlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Faster start up and better font rendering is a huge plus!
  4. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I don't understand why they care about version numbers. Most people know that one products version number doesn't mean anything about anothers. Like how ATi is going by thousands and NV is going by hundreds, must be ATi is way faster.
  5. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    I'm using the 8.0 nightly... 64 bit (with 64 bit flash beta) and it's allright... the RAM usage is higher then 5, but becuase it's not optimized yet. it does URL domain highlighting like IE8/9 does. it has a new permissions manager those are the two that stood out from 5. LOL.

    FF9 nightly is scheduled for next month!!!!!
  6. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    With "company-internal" I meant an internal version to be used by the Mozilla devs sorry to be unclear. And now I think about it, my guess is a bit weird b/c FF is F/OSS. Whatever...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    579 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    I think you meant, "Alpha builds can be unstable and buggy".
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,687 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    US
    Crazy but i guess they have there reasons lol... Funny i just removed Google from 2 DELL systems this week as it was screwing them up and OMG how much space i was seeing it was taking was crazy.
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Seriously? I'm still on 3.6.18 at home lol. I went from 5 to 7 at work and noticed very little difference. In fact, the most difference I've noticed at all was from 3.6.18 to 4, and then everything after that should have just been 4.x.xx
  10. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,002 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    As soon as i read Aurora i thought of Aurora illinois like the place in Waynes World lol.

    Whats with the funny numbering scheme, btw im not on the beta service so im still on version 5.
  11. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    yeah a lot of people dislike the new versioning system with FF and it breaks addons... they ether need to do away with the version dependancy for addons or need to keep to .x releases.

    and people are stupid for thinking that just a higher version number then the rest is the better.
  12. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Guess what?
    This world is filled with uninformed and/or stupid people. :shadedshu
  13. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    i've stopped using FF since the last version of 3.x and now i use Google Chrome
  14. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    I would loose too many beloved addons if I moved to chrome... :( Plus the interface on FF is nicer.
  15. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    no, it's Aurora.
    nightly -> Aurora -> beta/RC -> gold
  16. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    INDIA
    Anyway, I'm far more happy with All new Opera (11.50), performing fast as usual.
  17. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    I have noticed a thing here.... a lot of people from India love opera! why is this? very intriguing....
  18. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    :nutkick:
    remixedcat says thanks.
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I wouldn't care one way or the other, but the FF team is forgetting one very important thing, a thing that keeps them relevant in this day and age: Extensions. These inflated version numbers are breaking extensions, for no good reason. Sure, I know how to disable that check, but most people don't, and shouldn't have to.
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
    a_ump, Chevalr1c and remixedcat say thanks.
  20. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    precisely...
  21. PsiAmp

    PsiAmp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mozilla team has a small numbers complex. IE has version 9, Opera has 11.5, Chrome - 14. Firefox has pitiful 4? lol, no user can be pleased with such a small version number.

    And it doesn't matter that FF is slow as snail and has created around it an "Addon Hell". That's why I'm still using FF 3.6.1, some of my addons still don't work in 4.0.1. And without addons FF is a naked king. You can't even change keybindings without another addon.

    Chrome is great for people that do not need much functionality, but fast browser that does the job.

    My personal choice is Opera for being fast, lightweight and amazingly handy out of the box.

    I know how to disable the compatibility check, but some addons simply don't work with new version.
  22. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    It's funny how Firefox is the only fully color manged browser on Windows, in 2011.

    Wile E should know how horrible an un-managed image can look.
  23. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    the only addons that seem to have trouble are ones that bring up any special menus. like some of the downloaders and some of the IE accelerator emulating ones.

    I finally got the realplayer downloader to work in V5!!! but sadly not the nightly 8.... :(
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    chrome = poor copy of Opera

    so Opera FTW
  25. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    I suppose. I know Chrome obviously got its ideas from the other 3 before it was released, but their implementation is pretty dam good. Don't have a problem with Chrome here

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page