1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI 4830 V-Mod Help.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by BrooksyX, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Hey guys interested in modding my MSI 4830 but before I do I have some questions. Right now I have seem to hit the wall with the stock voltage. Its currently at 700 core and 1000 mem. I would like to at least hit 800mhz core and 1100mhz on the mem. Cooling is not a problem, currently my card runs at like 29 C idle and 45 C load.

    So here are my questions:
    -Questions. Got it figured out! :p


    Basically I am a noob at voltmodding and this will be my first. Any help would be appreciated. Here is the diagram for my card:

    [​IMG]

    Thanks :toast:
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2009
  2. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Anyone wanna help me out?
     
  3. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    It never mind. I figured it out. Bumped my core voltage from 1.14 to about 1.36~1.37. Ran the card all the way through 3dmark06 at 850mhz on the core. My score jumped over 1000 pts. Talk about a good mod. Temps are still good to. Might have to push it further :p
     
  4. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    hahaha sweetness ill have to try that with my x1600xt :)
     
  5. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    hmm really not bad. 1.21V should get you 750Mhz. 1.25V is getting me 750Mhz on my HD4850.
    (My HD4850 is VERY RARE, InfoTek Revision 1.1B PCB w/ unlocked VRMs under 2100 escaped QC) Doesn't need a vmod to reach 750Mhz.. stable while gaming ;-) I can supply my core with up to 1.8V in hardware but I need to rework the strings in the BIOS to address it and don't feel comfortable doing that. 1.45V is its current maximum.

    So If your vmod is stable,congratz.. 850Mhz on the core is a very good achievement. You may even be able to do 900Mhz but idk.. for me that would be to risky.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  6. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    I wish I could figure out were the hell I do that pencil mod on my Asus 4830's. :banghead: Google has not been my friend lately
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Does anyone have any idea on what resistor I would need to buy to push the stock volts from 1.14 to about 1.35 volts? Or at least directions on how I would figure that out?

    I am looking to do a more permanent volt mod.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2009
  8. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Anyone? I'm just a v-modding nooby looking for some help.
     
  9. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    The only way is for you to measure with multimeter
    while penciling, or if you can't get it any higher, that's just the limit
    or you need to find other point to pencil. :)

    I have the same card but since I don't have any multimeter, mine's just stock.
    Anyways, what is your driver??
     
  10. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I am using CCC 9.1 in Vista 64. Anything higher puts the card at stock speed for some reason. Hoping this will get fixed eventually.

    I figure I need about a 100k resistor, but how many watts does it need to be. No matter how much I search, no one ever says how many watts the resistor should be. :banghead: I am pretty sure this is important info. Maybe not...
     
  11. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hmm.. I also have no answer to that.

    For CCC I have the same problem. Is it for all 4830 or just msi?
     
  12. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Seems to be just the MSI. There are tons of threads with people having problems with it. I am pretty sure I read the 9.5 beta drivers fixes the problem. Hopefully when the public versions comes out it will fix the problems as well.

    Well I guess since no one knows what resistor I will need. Guess I might just have to pencil mod and cover it with tape or something.
     
  13. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Good luck with your mod :laugh:

    I'm looking forward to doing mine 1 day ~
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  14. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
  15. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Sorry, I can't help you. I'm a real noob at mods and all I know how to do is pencil.
    Hope someone else can help you out :eek:
     
  16. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,967 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Florida, US
  17. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    so is that yes then? :confused:

    Total noob here at volt modding lol
     
  18. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,967 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Florida, US
  19. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Okay so I went ahead and bought a couple 100k variable resistors. Hopefully they will get here soon.
     
  20. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Its not the core speed you want to worry about. You will get much better results with a vmem mod. When you stop seeing big leaps in 3Dmark with increased memory speeds, THEN do a vGPU mod ;)
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  21. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Well I seem to hit a wall with the memory around 1050mhz. Any suggestions how to increase the voltage on the memory/speed up the memory in general?
     
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    You will need a specific vmem mod for your card, the MSI 4830 seems to be one of the more common people buy so theres probably already a vmem mod discovered for it. If your card uses Samsung -HJ1A its rated for 1000MHz @ 1.9-2v. If your MSI is anything like my XFX the memory will be undervolted around 1.74v. Increasing voltage to rated spec I would think would see you easily doing 1150-1200. Oh and so its clear, when I say big leaps in 3Dmark, I'm talking once the difference comes within 25-40pts, its time for that vGPU mod ;)
     
  23. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Well, I don't remember off the top of my head but I think its at around 1.79 ~ 1.8 volts right now, I checked with the multimeter a few days ago. So I would be comfortable running the card at 2volts. Think I could get it there with the variable resistors I have on the way? Or am I going to need something with lower resistance you think? Ill look around for some vmem mods. My goal for the card is 850 core 1200 mem. I really think it would be a beast at the speeds and just beat the crap out of a 4870 at stock speeds. Cooling isn't a problem either.

    Would eventually like to get a second for crossfire. Should be able to get 4830 for around $50ish second hand when the 4770 comes out I bet.
     
  24. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I don't know. I'm just a general electronics person, I can measure voltages and resistances, know whats safe for components, and am a dab hand with a soldering iron, but when it comes to stuff like what pots to get your best off asking someone else or googling.
     
  25. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Hmm well ill play around with it when the resistors get here. I am guessing I can just attach the resistor to the vmem spot that is shown in the picture then the other end to the ground. That should lower the resistance, right? Also it won't hurt to play around with the resistance with the card outside of the case and not powered on. That shouldn't hurt anything.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page