1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI 6990 problems

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Oliosis, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. Oliosis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright, first and foremost I wanted to say hello to you all!

    I registered here today because I'm at a complete loss.

    I just bought an MSI 6990 video card to replace my HD5770.
    I've installed it, and it runs fine for the most part, however, the temps idle are around 53c and when I play a game (dragon age 2, RIFT, etc) the video card will shut off after a bit, but the comp stays on.

    I have a 700 watt power supply, I beleive I have everything set up correctly but I don't know what else to do!

    Any help would be very much appreciated.
  2. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    620 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Welcome to TPU :cheers:

    What are your temps reaching while you are gaming? For each core? 53c idle seems kind of high.

    Ambient temps?

    Fan speed %?

    How long do you play a game before it happens?

    Is it specific to those games or any 3d rendering?
  3. Oliosis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have no idea when I'm gaming, I haven't had the time to check (I got into dragon age 2, loaded my save, ran about 3 steps and the card shut off)

    Ambient temps as in room temps, or something else?

    fan speeds I've been playing with since I've posted using Afterburner, at current I have it running at 55% and temps are still 51c

    kind of sad my hd5770 could do whatever I wanted no issues, but this one just craps out constantly. Any ideas? I really don't want to RMA the card, lol
  4. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    What model is the powersupply?
  5. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    620 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    So every time you try to play it goes black almost immediately?

    Yes, what is your room temp?

    Try running the fan at 100% and play. Also, I'd recommend filling out your system specs so others with similar set ups can give better advice.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4209/amds-radeon-hd-6990-the-new-single-card-king/18
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/Radeon_HD_6990/20.html

    Wizzard does recommend an 800w PSU for this card, but it does depend on the rest of your system and the brand and quality of your PSU.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/Radeon_HD_6990/25.html

    It seems your idle temps aren't off the norm. Your PSU might be the culprit.
  6. Oliosis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Processor:
    3.30 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
    768 kilobyte primary memory cache
    3072 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    6144 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
    64-bit ready
    Multi-core (6 total)
    Not hyper-threaded

    Motherboard:
    Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4N68T-M-V2 Rev X.0x
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz

    OS:
    Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)

    Memory:
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

    power supply I haven't looked at yet, I'll edit this post when I do, or just reply, what power supply would you suggest ?
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    Does your PSU have the two 8 pin connectors for the card?
  8. Oliosis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sadly no, the card came with an adaptor from 6 to 8 pins, I know I should have figured that would be an issue right there. I'm not as computer literate as I used to be, haha, its been years.

    Turns out my other comp that fried has an 850 in it, so I guess I'll be switching. cross your fingers! lol
  9. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    The brand and the amps on the 12v line are what I'd look at.
  10. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Make sure your 12v rail is giving it enough juice. Also, airflow within your case is very important


    I high recommend getting MSI Afterburner, HW Monitor, and Speedfan. You can google them. Every PC tech uses these program(s)
  11. Oliosis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm using Afterburner, and the PSU I have is an 850 watt Antec, think it will be good enough?
  12. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Thought it was 700w? Well a 850watt antec should be capable of running it.
  13. Oliosis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry, the PSU I pulled out of my other pc that died haha, I'll pop it in and see what happens I guess :)
  14. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    yes, go into CCC and check your fan speed and see if your clocks are unlocked
  15. Oliosis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Much better thus far, idle it is sitting at 45c instead of the 51-53c I was getting.

    I have afterburner controlling the speeds of the fan as per what I had found on a different forum trying to figure out the issue.

    Going to try some gaming and see if the card dies or not.

    So far you have been a great help!
  16. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    NYC
    Probly better to invest on good high power PSU that can hold the load of your 6990
  17. Oliosis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the 850 Antec is working like a champ. 59c after playing Dragon age 2 for quite a while.

    Thanks for your help guys :)
  18. broken_pixel

    broken_pixel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    I was having problems with afterburner when trying to manually set the fan speed to 100%
    Afterburner would always lower itself every time I selected apply.
    I have mine in OC mode 880MHz 100% fan speed manually set in CCC
    overdrive settings. Stays around 54C BFBC2 under load.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page