1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI-7870 TF III/OC Black Screen while gaming

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by luciferry, Sep 10, 2012.

  1. luciferry New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello there mate,
    1st time post for me,
    i'm from Indonesia, and i just got my r7870 recently
    and i'm using it now for playing Guild Wars 2.
    1st i'm using the "auto detect" mode in Guild Wars 2
    where give me "high" setting for the graphic
    but after a few minutes i got a black screen.....
    that force me to shut down my system by press and hold the power button,
    then i try with "low" setting for the graphic (in Guild Wars2)
    but still got the black screen after another few minute..
    and i always got black screen while i try to re-active my monitor after entering "sleep/power saving mode"
    and i'm using CCC ver. 12.8

    i have been search and found some post with similar issue with this (black screen while gaming with r7870)

    what can i do to solve this prob ?


    Note : before using r7870, i used r4870 1GB, and have no problem playing Guild Wars 2 (in low setting)

    here is my rig :

    Main Board : MSI - Z68MA - G45
    CPU : I3 - 2120
    RAM : 2x4GB GSkill
    PSU : 650 Watt Seasonic
    HHD : 2x 500gb Seagate
    Graph Card : MSI - r7870 TF3 OC edition

    sorry for my bad English, hope you all still can understand.
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2012
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Try this - Uninstall your vga driver; follow this guide by erocker - http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502

    Next, reinstall AMD Drivers

    Use the latest drivers from AMD http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...n_win7-64.aspx or drivers you know are stable from their archive http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...w_vista64.aspx

    Next: Reinstall DirectX http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

    Next: Install any/latest patch available for Guild Wars2

    Next: Download GPU-Z http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/ and monitor GPU Temps while running Guild Wars2

    Could you let the TPU community know if your vga card; dose this running all games or just Guild Wars2?

    Edit: ensure power leads to the vga card are secure

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,212 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ya he switched to a totally diff card, so drivers need a reinstall
  4. luciferry New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi there.. you 2...
    thx for the reply..

    as for yours suggestion i'l try them out after i got back my card from rma..
    i decided to rma because i got black screen after my system enter sleep mode,
    as for the power cable, i'm pretty sure its secure.
    and for the link for guide by erocker is broken, cmiiw

    glad i post here, got some awesome feedback.
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page