1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

msi 970a-g46 and amd 8350 overclocking?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by karolpl2004, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    the bios has a neat overclocking feature but i can only get the proccie up to 4.3ghz. any higher i put in, it still goes back to 4.3ghz.. im using pc3-12800 ram... what am i doing wrong?
  2. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    You need to define what you mean. Do you mean there is a BIOS fault, OC failed, etc?
  3. [502]

    [502] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    21 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    (v)
    It could be that the bios has some kind of safety feature so that any cpu or ram overclocked beyond their safety margin (according to your motherboard/bios) gets downclocked to the point where it feels "safe".
  4. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    what i mean is, in the bios i overclock it to say, 4.8Ghz. It automatically adjusts the Ram speeds ect. when i restart and windows boots, its 4.3Ghz in cpuid. couple times when i oced, it would restart and hang before post.. but upon restart it goes to 4.3Ghz again.

    maybe.. =(
  5. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Did you turn off the auto-oc when you adjusted your OC-if yes I have no other ideas
  6. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    thanks for the help! i figured it out. so far im running http://valid.canardpc.com/2690651
    im kind of new to overclocking. just a silly question i have, i cant really fry anything doing this right? mostly ill get blue screens?
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Yes you can....That board is designed for a 125 watt max cpu....which is what you have but you also have it over volted which means higher amp spikes
    I have 2 MSI boards that only lasted about a year with a decent OC that took it over it's rating....
    Both boards still work ~sort of...both take a minute to warm up likely because of leaks in the caps but once they start they run...just no cool and quiet..and after they get stressed they blue screen..

    This is why I'm looking to upgrade right now..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page