1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI AB Beta 3 Finally Voltage control for 6870!!!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by 20mmrain, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=3758974

    Download Link...
    http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/images/MSIAfterburnerSetup210Beta3.zip

    Top address is a link to the thread at Guru 3D...Bottom link is the download link.... Now that we got a thread going that seems to be working out well for the 6850 users.... let's start one for the next BETA.

    I can offically tell you that it works just fine for my XFX 6870's!

    Enjoy the overclocking guys! Now let's see how well these cards can compare to their younger brothers....:toast:

    TriXX and MSI AB in one day man oh man they know how to get a Overclocker really excited!!!
     
    jagd says thanks.
  2. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Awwww max voltage is 1.28v for me, i was hoping maybe 1.35v as trixx only gives me 1.3v...... i want more power damn it :roll:
     
  3. Charly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Use asus smartdoctor..1.35V....but u need to flash it with a asus bios.
     
  4. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    My old sapphire 4870 got flashed to an asus bios pretty quick, i geuss i should just wait for an asus card to come into stock before i buy next time :laugh:
     
  5. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    do you mean older brothers? (58xx) lol

    good to ehar it's all ready to go now, I'll be very interested to see how barts competes with cypress at 1ghz core, 4800mhz mem on both.
     
  6. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well I meant to see how the 6870 will compare in overclocking to the 6850.... Yeah I ha a RAID 0 failure today.... so I am in the mist of a rebuild with a new drive. But when that's done I can't wait!! :toast:
     
    wolf says thanks.
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    If I remember correctly you might be able to get around that by "EnableATIOverclock" in the CFG files. I believe that gets rid of the cap. I could be wrong though that could just get rid of the cap on the Clocks or neither of them I will have to try it later.... Just a heads up if you want to try it. :toast:
     
  8. CobraXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    EnableUnofficialOverclocking = 0 <--- change to 1 but make sure Overdrive is not enabled
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  9. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I gave it a go but it did not help, i guess i will try an asus bios flash soon but right now I'm in the process of ripping apart my higher clocking card to install my zalman vf1000 cooler so i can run an industrial ducting fan to it and pencil mod the memory :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page