1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Afterburner goofing,

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by a_ump, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    Here's the situation. i can't get any program to go past CCC limits on the core besides MSI Afterburner, but anytime i set clocks it just reverts back to 850/1200 automatically. buggin the hell outa me. already changed the cfg file to allow past CCC limits. anyone else have this problem? i have an HD 5770, it worked in the past but this also isn't the first i've had this issue. any ideas?

    FYI: i'm tryin to push my core higher to beat erocker's Heaven score :) so help me out
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,903
    If you changed the .cfg file and it's still not working, it's just because of my master plan. :p Honestly, I have no idea why it wouldn't work if you already changed the value from 0 to 1. Perhaps it's just fate... Yeah, fate.
  3. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    haha try a re-install i will be the top HD 5770 score holder!!!!! :) at least for a second lol. Have you pushed your GPU any further than 950?
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    maybe it needs more burn in time or it just hit a wall on that chip?
  5. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Drivers. I had this exact same problem. Reverted to 10.4 drivers and it was no longer a problem.
  6. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Do you have latest version of Afterburner ?
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,903
    I owned that card for about a week. 950 was as far as I went as far as I remember.
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    well isntead of making a new thread for almsot exactly the same topic ill ask here.

    my mobility 5650 is clocked at 550/800 and overdrive locks it permanently at that speed, by changing MSI AB's config file the limits are now 715mhz core, 1040mhz memory, but the chip is rock solid at 715mhz core, so can I extend MSI AB's overclocking limits manually? I had a peer in the cfg file but didn't see much helpfull there...

    throughts?
  9. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    You clicked on the Lockpad to "unlock" it within CCC?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    I am using Afterburner 1.61
  11. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    theres no overdrive section whatsoever in CCC, its just not there....
  12. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    in the cfg file, there's an option all the way at the bottom called
    EnableUnofficialOverclocking. gotta make sure it's set to 1 instead of 0. if you've already done that then idk how to help ya :p. i wish the owner of rivatuner would update it to support all the new GPU's, it was the fav program.
    wolf says thanks.
  13. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    yeah tahts already done, and im up from 550mhz to 715, but it has room for more I feel...
  14. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    well you could give GPUTool a shot, i've used it before, but i've had moments with my 7800GTX and 8800GTS where it would bug out and after clicked "stop finding max oc" it would upping the clock even after i'd exited. Comp stayed unstable, opened GPU-Z and core kept rising lol had to reboot.

    but when it did work it worked as good as any other overclocking tool
    wolf says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page