1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Afterburner problems

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by El_Mayo, May 16, 2010.

  1. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    When I apply my profile 1 (1000/1250 overclock) to my HD 5770 it automatically goes up to that speed even though gpu usage is at 1%! if i click reset however it goes to it's normal idle clock speeds (157/300) is there anything I can do to sort this out?
     
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,844 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,475
    I would say save your idle profile and then save your OC settings. Then click on Settings at the bottom and then profiles. You should see 2d and 3d. Select your idle profile for 2d mode and your OC profile for 3d mode. With that you should never have to look at MSI afterburner again:laugh: Oh yeah, make sure you have it setup to start with windows.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,558 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    hell, even i learned something there. never realised afterburner had profiles.
     
  4. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Disable Unofficial Overclocking
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  5. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    ooh now there's a thought... however it caps out at 960 w/out unofficial overclocking

    i want that 1Ghz core fore e-peen reasons! :D
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,959 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    Did you edit the .cfg file?
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  7. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    yes

    i'll unedit it?
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,959 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    The value needs to change to 1. Then you should be able to go as high as you want with the GPU.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  9. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    ahhh yes
    many thanks

    you may close/lock the thread
     
  10. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    I was saying you should disable the unofficial OC, cause it disabled powerplay, u will end up with fixed clock, unless u setup 2d/3d profiles. If you want 1Ghz core look for a unlocked bios
     
  11. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    I don't know how to use bioses lol
    I can't be bothered to go through that for 40mhz extra

    I disabled unofficial overclocking and i'm sticking to 960mhz :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page