1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI GeForce GTX 295 Pictured, Almost Ready to Ship

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Micro Star International (MSI) is the next bug computer company that launches own branded GeForce GTX 295 video card. The N295GTX-M2D1792 is standard in all ways, it follows NVIDIA's dual-GPU reference design, cooling and clock speeds. The two GPUs are set to 576MHz, the shaders work at 1242MHz and the 1792MB of GDDR3 memory is clocked at 1998MHz. The card hasn't reached the stores just yet, but that's about to change very soon.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
  2. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    MSI, seriously need a new mascot picture for their vga cards.
     
  3. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    Nice looking card... and YES, MSI does need a new mascot picture because this is way to old already...
     
  4. jeffrelw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Was wondering whether this works with ATI crossfire motherboards?

    If yes then i'm gonna get this !
     
  5. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    It's working... but only in sigle mode and NOT in SLI
     
  6. jeffrelw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So if i buy this 295 card it will work on the crossfire motherboard, but 2 of the same cards won't work right?
     
  7. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    That's right... you must have a SLI compatible mobo (with nForce SLI chipset or X58) and NOT a CrossFire mobo (like P35, P45, X48)...
     
    jeffrelw says thanks.
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Going to be insanly expensive, but want to see it relesed so i can see it in peoples rigs.:)
     
  9. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hope to see XFX model.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,145
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest

    Or the Evga.......to see if a step-up is possible;)
     
  11. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
  12. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Thats not true at all, all the work is done on the card. Otherwise a 9800gx2 wouldn't work properly on a p35.
     
  13. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I know that... i sayed that isn't working in Quad SLI (two GTX295's in SLI)
     
  14. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    AH ok, my bad then :p
     
  15. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    the sticker makes it sooooooooo ugly:ohwell:
     
  16. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    Maybe this is already known to all of you, but to me it seems the GTX 295 is made of two GTX260´s?? Atleast if you compare the clocks, but as I said, all of you propably already knew that? :)

    Just to be clear, why I was wondering is because I thought the GTX 295 was to be a GTX280 X2 card?
     
  17. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Sort of a hybrid. Has a similar core to the 280, but the same clocks/RAM amount as a 260.

    I thought it was cool. What's it from?
     
  18. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    gtx 295 is two gtx 280!!!!NOT gtx 260.make it clear for yourself:shadedshu
     
  19. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    It's way too old, and they need to use a different picture for newer card at least...
     
  20. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    If you was right, the 295 should have higher clocks and 2gb ram, it only has 1792 ram and 575mhz core clock.
     
  21. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    HOW MUCH dose gtx 260 hace shaders 216!!!!!!!gtx 295 has 480.so how is it two gtx 260!!!!!!!
    THINK before you speak:shadedshu
     
  22. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    ...and this (and gtx 260) both use a 448 bit memory interface (per gpu), wheras the gtx280 uses a 512 bit interface...
     
  23. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    all you say is that it uses gtx260 pcb and it memory!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BUT THE CORE IS GTX280 just UNDERCLOCKED:banghead:that was nvidias marketing tool to but it on the 260 pcb BUT the core is 285!!then they can say that look how fast is 2 260 against 2 4870:mad:THE TRUTH IS THAT IT IS JUST 2 GTX 285 ON GTX260 pcb............... i thaught that you tech guys will now that but i was wrong:shadedshu
    Sorry for bad english
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  24. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    It has a similar core to the GTX 280, GTX 260 clocks and RAM configuration.

    A GTX 295 is NOT two 280s. It's a hybrid card. It would be nice if you made things clear the first time rather than correcting yourself afterwards and saying we don't know anything...
     
  25. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    :slap:OK but i hate peaple how say it is two 260 because it not:rolleyes:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page