1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI GeForce GTX 580 Lightning Xtreme Edition 3 GB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, May 25, 2011.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    Last edited: May 30, 2011
  2. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Any chance an EK backplate would fit on this thing? Looks like some of the holes still line up.
  3. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Great review, as always.
    For the color changing fans, I suggest a heat gun. Only enough to see the fans change the color...no need for them to melt, I think.
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    so whats the point of 3GB?

    how can it be a pro and con lol

    pro
    •3 GB GDDR5 memory
    con
    •3 GB memory can not make a difference
  5. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    W1zz tests games, where 3 GB , even 2 GB are not necessary (yet) and make little or no difference (hence the con). But more GB does help in some other areas like CAD or GPGPU. As long as it does not cost much more than the 1.5 GB variant it could be a good investment for many people, especially if you are interested in CAD programs and GPGPU.
  6. v2.0HeLLBRinGeR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    Too bad there's no block for this!
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I just use gpus to game or bench so kind of worthless imo and its going to cost more then the 1.5 GB thats the way it is more GB higher price :shadedshu
  8. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    I'm the kinda person that doesn't like being constricted on a $500 and up purchase. If gta, a game I enjoy, needs more than 1.5gbs to be on max then I don't like the idea that my insanely expensive card can't max it. Then there's mods. I mod every game I can graphically. I mean I feel like I don't have a choice in this age of console ports. It's just not acceptable. My texture mods alone on crysis bring my 470 down to 12-18 FPS. The vram requirements become massive. Unfortunately it's all a moot point. I could never justify buying a normal 580 let alone this. It's ridiculous the price hasn't dropped yet. The card has to be more than half way to EOL.
  9. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    I was just explaining why 3 GB is shown as a pro. 3 GB is certainly not for everyone, but $500 cards aren't either.

    I don't think I'd care about a $50 difference if I was about to pay $500+ for a card, if it means I will get ANY advantage for any use I could give to the card. I would never pay $500 for a card anyway unless I had much more use for it than gaming and benching. A midrange card is enough for gaming and although I don't care about benching anymore, I'd be as happy trying to beat other gtx460's as I would breaking world records with 4 GTX580's HD6990's or whatever. It's pushing my hardware to its limits what was fun, not breaking any recoords.

    And LAN is right about mods. I don't know what the difference would be between 1.5 GB and 3 GB but many modded games totally benefit from more than 1 GB on my GTX460. You can feel it's totally starving for vram even on games as old as Oblivion. I'd say that a card that is 2x as fast as mine could also benefit from twice as much vram.

    Also multi-monitor, 3D... SLI'ed 580's would do much better with 3GB on that situation.
  10. rainwilds New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Was considering getting two lightning cards a while back but cannot afford them at this stage. I'm going to hold off for the 7000 radeon series which should start to arrive end of this year. Don't think there's a point buying two high end cards when we are only six-months away from a new series. My humble 6850 will have to hold-out.
  11. rainwilds New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    That's a good point. You'll never use 3GB on a resolution this card can handle like 1920x1080. Run it on a 2560x1440 res and the 3GB would be handy but you'll begin to suffer FPS lag. Don't really see the point of this card.
  12. Krony

    Krony New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    288 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    England
    If ur looking at running surround on 3 1080P monitors or even 3D surround or even a 30" 2560x1600 monitor then ur gonna be hitting a memory wall with a 1.5Gb card, obviously running thoes resolutions will require a pair of em in sli tho.
    Edit: The point of these and the Evga and other 3Gb cards is they are meant to be used in sli really, and btw if u think u can sli 2x 1.5Gb cards and get 3Gb of usable memory u are greatly mistaken as even with 4x 1.5Gb cards u only get a usable 1.5Gb in sli as all the cards have to store the same info.
  13. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    566 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Common sense here folks. It's SLI or nothing with this card and 1200$ on graphics is LOL.
  14. rainwilds New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    There were some good articles on HardOCP a little while ago about this. Most people know that the memory is not accumulative; two 1.5GB SLI is still going to be 1.5GB. With present games there is not a big difference between running 1.5GB cards in SLI compared to 2GB radeons in Xfire, or even two 3GB gtx 580s! Unless your running at 8x AA in which you might see a small difference.

    Point is, if these cards are intended to be run in SLI the people who buy them are getting suckered into some slick marketing. 3GB memory with the next generation of cards (and DX11 games) though would be welcomed.
  15. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
  16. voidshatter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    One should say sorry to the 3GB vram if not benchmarking Metro 2033 with MSAA 4X and DOF, or Shogun 2 DX11 max and MSAA 8X :D

    afaik only the review from hardwarecannucks did the job
  17. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    A universal block would fit from the looks of it
  18. mustang9 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    3GB is crusial for nvidia surround setups on extreme high resolutions. So it makes sence!
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2011
  19. Krony

    Krony New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    288 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    England
    Yea running games like Metro 2033 maxed out at 5760x1080 requires alot of memory, i can hit over 1250Mb of memory use running Crysis maxed out on 1920x1200, these are enthusiast cards, and about getting suckered in lol, who says the ppl who buy these cards will not be keeping them for a couple of years and not upgrade every generation ? games do and will evolve.
    For thoes that were asking Evga does a stock clocked 3Gb card with a refernce design so all aftermarket waterblocks do fit on this card.
  20. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,354 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    AZ
    sli, tril sli, multi monitor gaming, cuda, etc.


    take my 480's while the gpu power is plentiful in sli they can't use more than 1.5GB of memory. So there could be a cases of multi monitor gaming where more than that is required despite the plentiful gpu power, causing the whole rig to slow at a detail level they should be able to handle.


    a 580 would be even more so in sli and especially tri sli, where you have 3 cards worth of gpu power all sharing the same 1.5Gb of memory. If you did 3 of these cards you'd be much better off for tri sli.

    now now I know, "too much power to play console ports" but that's where multi monitor support comes in. Sure at 1080p a 6950 can handle any game out there, so everything over is a waste. But at 4800x2560 (3 30" monitors flipped vertically) that same console port can be suprisingly demanding. And really when we're talking tri sli with 500$ cards, someone might also spend 3 grand on a monitor solution.
  21. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    This thick coat of paint adds weight to the fan and increases noise. In my totally unbased opinion. I would prefer a regular grey fan. Also bigger
  22. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    This card looks like a monster for ultra high res, multi-monitor gaming.

    My trusty Radeon 5850 is still good enough for me in all the games I play, but I don't do multi-gpu, multi-monitor.

    It's crazy how fast the video card race is still going.
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    3GB RAM can help

    To quote the review:
    Well, it looks like Fudzilla found a case where it can make a difference. The cool bit is that they used GPU-Z to prove it. Look at the Memory Used graph:

    Fudzilla
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    what was the fps at "2560x1600 using 32 CSAA and 16AF" using 3 GB card?
  25. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    They didn't say as the full review is "coming soon".

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page