1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI GTX275 twin frozr oc overclocking problems

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Stak, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
    hi,

    I have a MSI n275GTX twin frozr oc. I cant overclock it because when i OC the core a little bit (680,normally 666) the screen goes black ingame and drivers stop responding.

    After that de game resumes but it runs at leas twice as slow. And that stays till i reboot my system. But i only can overclock the memory a bit.

    my temps are:
    40 C idle with fan at 25%
    60 C(or bit lower) full load at 47% fan speed.
    i set fan speed manually because @ auto the fans dont go faster that 31%.

    my rig:
    CORE I7 920 @ 3.3Ghz
    Giga byte EX-58 UD3R
    6gig kingston DDR3 (3.25 because of vista 32 bit)
    CoolerMaster Real Power M620
    Antec 920
    Scythe Mugen 2 CPU cooler

    so the temps areĀ“nt the problem

    is it my PSU maybe?

    i used MSI afterburner

    sorry for bad english:)
     
  2. lelouchvi

    lelouchvi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UK
    atm it sounds like a bad card?
     
  3. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
    maybe its the voltage?
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  4. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
    it runs furmark perfectly...

    after it crashes the speeds go to low perf 3d settings(very low clocks)

    and without OC it runs without any problems. so the card isnt broken
     
  5. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,266 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,385
    The reference GTX275 runs at 633 MHz. Yours are factory OC to 666. That might be the stabil OC for that particular GPU. I know that Gibabyte has a card that runs 715 MHz but these cards are all tested and found good enough for that clock. I can only OC my own 260 (stock 680) to 692 for 24/7 folding (75-99% GPU load). We cant all win.

    Try the new GPU-Z and you will see that your card down clock to 400 MHz when it gets unstable.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,934 (9.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    if the card come from the factory as Overclocked then most of the time they have overclocked it to a good stable clock and going over that would probably make it unstable
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
  8. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    you will need to add voltage MSI Afterburner has the feature.

    is your 275 the 896mb version? how much overclock on your memory?
     
  9. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
    somehow afterburner doesnt let me change the voltage

    896MB
     
  10. sno.lcn

    sno.lcn

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    670 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    I've had the same issues with the GTX275 Lightning. You can keep it from reverting to 2d clocks with Rivatuner.

    Also, if Afterburner doesn't let you change voltage, try this http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=230046.

    Which version of Afterburner are you using? And which nvidia drivers? I've found the Afterburner software (older versions anyway, don't know about newer ones) to only support certain nvidia driver versions.
     
  11. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Erm im using the latest version of afterburner. And also the latest drivers.(195.xx) but before i had 186xx and it didnt work either.
     
  12. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    sounds like ocp kicking in to me (over current protection) look for an ocp mod
     
  13. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
    are you sure its not just the voltage?

    just a side question....
    am i able to SLI this with the 1792 MB lightning? its same brand and everything.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page