1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI HD 3870 - OC PCIe only runs in x2 Mode

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by like`-, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. like`- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello,

    i've got a problem with my MSI HD3870 OC (512 MB GDRR4 RAM @ 1125 MHz Memory / 800 MHz GPU )


    It will only run in PCI-E 2.0 x2 Mode, but my Board and GPU supports PCI-E 2.0 x16!

    System:

    CPU: AMD Phenom 9850 BE
    MoBo: MSI K9A2 Platinum
    GraFik: MSI HD3870 OC
    OS: WIndows7 Ultimate (x64)

    Any solutions?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    you checked the bios and have latest drivers ? , could be a faulty bios
     
  3. like`- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I found no option in my bios to set this PCI-E speed.

    I have installed the latest catalyst driver (9.10)
     
  4. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    reseat the card. remove it and put it back in. I have the same problem sometimes when I clean my rig. runs @ x2 or x1.
     
    like`- says thanks.
  5. like`- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    copy, be right back :)
     
  6. like`- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks man!

    It works! I've cleaned my fan, so my idle temp goes from 80°C to 30°C... wow! :D I have a "new" Graphiccard! :p

    [​IMG]
     
  7. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    no prob. 80c? w0w its dusty in there :laugh: atleast its clean now
     
    like`- says thanks.
  8. like`- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yep the air circulation blocked by a KG dust... :D the fan spins for nothing... uhm.. :D
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I've seen cases where fan was hardly spinning. Maybe at 50 RPM lol...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page