1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI HD 4670 1gb vs powercolor HD4730 512mb

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by pantherx12, Sep 7, 2009.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Right I'm building a system for a friend, how ever the graphics card I was going to get has now sold out, so I'm looking for best bang for buck for 60 quid.

    Which of these is better?

    the MSI is 56 pounds the powercolor is 57.

    Thanks TPU.
     
  2. JayliN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    NYC
    the 4730 is significantly faster. higher bit memory. more stream processors.

    Downside, bigger card. Needs power connector. Uses more power and runs hotter.
     
  3. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    HD4730

    has 640 SP's. But uses more power and runs hotter like jaylin said.
     
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Ok cheers guys.

    Need to find out if adapters are included in box now.

    I'm going to hunt around on google to find out about that, but if someone knows if you get a DVI - vga adapter and a molex to 6 pin adapter that would help me out loads.
     
  5. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    4730 is better altough it uses about the same power as a 4870
     
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'm still have trouble finding out about in box accessories, does anyone know?

    I know it comes with a molex-6 pin cable, and I know it doesn't come with a DVI -HDMI converter, how ever I still don't know weather or not it has a DVI-VGA D:
     
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Almost all retail box cards comes with both.
    At least thats for HIS and Sapphire. :p

    Why not get a 4770? Its a kick ass card.
    I will choose the good old 4830 over a 4730.
     
  8. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,395 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,409
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I'm not sure about over there (China for you or England for panther), but over here 4770's are way over priced. For about $10 more here you can get a 4870 which is a far better card.
     
  9. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Okay, are the 4830s still avaliable then? ;)
    Because 4830s are still great clockers.
    In OCing, 4730 is the same shit as 4850s :shadedshu
     
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'll check out some 4830s, if they're around the same price I may go for them.

    ( although ebuyer has no hd4830s, meaning I'd need to find another shop that has free shipping)

    Thanks for the help guys.
     
  11. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I would take a 9800GT over a 4730 simply because 4730 is full of so much fail and it contribute to global warming. This is coming from an ATi "Fanboy". :respect:
     
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  13. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto

    Nope. The HD4850 are better deals than that, and about the same price.
     
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Thanks guys, no need to worry though, I sold the rig in my specs.

    Not much profit but it was to a friend, rebuilding already.

    Got a full tower case by Sunbeam apparently the fans are noisy rubbish but I'll fix that :D
    Got the Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 750w modular psu ( high quality stuff :D)
    And I've got another 2x2gb 1333mhz ddr 3 kit coming (these run at 1600mhz faster then stock timings so easily! Corsair xms series without heatsinks, perfect for those of you with big heatsinks)

    This time I'll build log it all properly since I'm not getting all the kit at once.

    ( going to hold out for hd58 cards)
     
  15. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    For the moment, it would be a better price/performance ratio to save a little bit on the memory and get DDR2, and spend a bit more on the graphics card to get a HD4870.
     
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    I didn't say anything about using DDR3 for his system :S
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page