1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI HD 4890 Cyclone SOC

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,375
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2009
  2. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,893 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Powercolor is the mentioned manufacturer instead of MSI when talking about the chosen voltage controller...Nice review regardless. :)
  3. suvi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey first of all nice review :)

    Im owning 2 of the normal oc editions that work on 895/975 in crossfire coz one wont go higher than that and since there is no software voltage control i was wondering if anyone or you Wizz have the bios of this soc edition since i guess its higher voltage than the 1.31 that i have on my cards.

    Tbh i know there is no chance that my card will run at soc speeds but i would be happy with 950/1000 since 1 of my cards can do that on default voltage.

    Thx in advance
  4. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Huge fail from MSI if it's really supposed to be running at 1.5V.
  5. Meusi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You are right.

    There is no software control of the voltage regulators of MSI Cyclone series. I also own the 4890 cyclone oc, stable at 925/1100. I think with voltage control the card can reach 1k GPU without a problem. I tried with ATT, Rivatuner, voltagefactory, CCC. These tools can handle voltera 1165 o.s. but not the voltage regulators on non-standard pcb. If anyone nows a tool for software-regulation, PLEASE post here...

    Greets,

    Meusi
  6. ArkanHell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Paraguay
    I'm kind of disagree to give bad points in a review in the "overclock capabilities" to a Video Card tha is an OC or SOC version, this means that the manufacturer has already made and effor to reach the higher stable OC, there for, the costumer aimed for this product shouldnt have the need to do any OC.
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Uh no. The general idea behind an OC version is to overclock better, not to consume a base-model's natural headroom to label it as "OC". To cite an example, "Amp!" versions of Zotac's cards overclock way beyond the already overclocked speeds.
  8. swaaye

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    228 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    The OC version is overclocked. The point of it is to bring overclocking to people who don't want to do it themselves, and to try to raise the profit margin on the product by charging for that "added value". If you want to blow your card up with voltmods, feel free, but that's not necessarily the intent of an overclocked edition card.
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    And that definition doesn't explain the premium. Afterall, the 'feature' isn't worth a dime extra (just a few greater numbers when writing the BIOS). Again, OC versions have high clock speeds out of the box, and overclock better than base-models. This doesn't.
  10. swaaye

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    228 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    It is worth a dime though. I guarantee that seeing "overclocked" plastered on a box gets noobs excited. It makes that edition of the card seem better than the stock-clock version. And so the overclocked version potentially becomes more "valuable" to them.

    Now, if it's the overclocker edition, that's different. Unless it's just some non-english-speaker getting confused with the wording. I'd still be suspicious about whether or not the company actually made the product more expensive to build, in an effort to create some extra quality, though. That's not the goal of the companies selling these cards.

    Besides you're not expecting RV790 to go much higher than 1GHz are ya?
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Bench-stable Speed record for HD 4890 stands on 1250/1200 MHz (core/memory), so yes. At least 1050 MHz (core) is possible on a good HD 4890 OC card on air-cooling. This card fizzles out at 1000. So it tells you that this isn't an OC card by common standards. They just ate into the natural overclocking headroom of MSI R4890 Cyclone (base-model), which caps out at 1000 MHz.
  12. Meusi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is all about marketing strategies. My question was a technical one :). MSI must not integrate a special kind of voltage regulator, no question. But they can offer some codes in someway to overclock by overvolting. I loose my guarantee, also no question. But why can you overvolt today every mainboard?

    Still searching for some tool...

    Greets from Austria, a land with non standard language :)...

    Meusi
  13. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Meusi,
    I gather you have this card?
    Do you have multimeter?
    -> Could you measure the vGPU voltage? Is it ~1.5V during load on your card?
    Look here for the vGPU measuring point (measure between red dot and any ground).
  14. Meusi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Very interesting...maybe it is already overvolted. I will measure Tomorrow with my Multimeter with CPU oclocked and Running furmark. Then i will post my results asap. Thanks for your Input!!!
    Meusi
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2009
  15. Meusi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hei!

    System:
    P5Q SE Plus
    Q8200/2,33@3,16@450Mhz FSB Air
    MSI 4890 Cyclone oc 880/975@925/1100
    2GB DDR2/800 Corsair DHX @4-4-4-15
    Be quiet 420W
    Chieftec Lanboy

    Idle:
    Total Power Consumption: 228 W
    Voltage between ground and measuring point posted before: 1,35V constantly with digital Multimeter

    Load:
    Total Power Consumption: 375 W
    Voltage between ground and measuring point posted before: 1,35V constantly with digital Multimeter
    Temperature after 600sec furmark stabilitytest: 92° with open case

    what do you think?

    with 1.4V overvolted are 1000 Mhz no prob for every Cyclone oc!

    any ideas to tweak the voltage?

    Meusi
  16. suvi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  17. Meusi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page