1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI HD 5830 Twin Frozr II 1024 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 9, 2010
    Flanker and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,756 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Wow, your a busy person, playing SLI with two 480's and publishnig a review!

    What is the cost of a reference cooler design 5830? If they get down to the $200-$250 range, a superb card for the buck.

    Too bad about MSI AB doesn't work with it (at the moment).
     
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i seen ppl on newegg saying it doesnt work on the 5850 ver. it wont go past 1.15v without crashing the system :shadedshu
     
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    More middle child syndrome to come when *Insert Brand Name here* tries their hand at make the HD 5830 not pointless. Will they dabble at declining the dastardly dubious dollar amount? Will they overclock the obvious opening for over achievement with this overt GPU?

    Join us next time and find out! Same W1z time. Same W1z channel!
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  5. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    The 5830 would have been so much better with 1280 sps enabled...there's such symmetry in that number. Plus you can see that half the ROPS are hurting it. It does much better without AA enabled.
     
  6. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    The 5830 in general is not reaaly that great.
     
  7. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I'm surprised to see the Volt modding being so wonky on it, MSI are usually pretty good for this sort of thing
     
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,352 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,660
    Location:
    Florida
    although its close to a 4890 I still want to get rid of mine and get 2x5830's idk for some reason I just really like these cards.
     
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Like your profile pic. What?
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,352 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,660
    Location:
    Florida
    Well I went rom quad SLI to one 4890. 5830 seems to be a nice proce point for the performance and not having more than 1 GPU is driving me insane.
     
  11. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    Yea ROP's is definitely what's hurting the HD 5830, if it had say 20-24ROPs it'd be doing much better, and its performance would be more inline with its price which is closer to the HD 5850's price yet the HD 5830's performance is much closer to the HD 5770's.
     
  12. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The bummer for the 5830 is that ATi set the clock-speed at 800Mhz.
    If they make it 850Mhz core then there will be no contest in-terms of performance.
    Some half-ass atempt to save power or just terribad yields?
     
  13. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    But as stated in the review. For an extra $20 bucks you can get a 30% boost in performance from the 5850. And your HD 4890 out performs the 5830, but cost less money.

    This thing needs to lose some price weight, or bring up the performance with high clock speed as stated above.

    I still with my cartoonish comment above as this creation should not be taken seriously in its current form.
     
  14. Flanker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney, AU
    ew, that cooler basically screams under load, the price points doesn't help either
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,352 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,660
    Location:
    Florida
    my 4890 would not out perform this. And I didn't say I wanted this exact card. Its expensive for its performance. I like the 5830 series though. I would of course get one with voltage control. Then I would get 2. I have 0 intrest in running a single 5850 I also have 0 intrest and buying a 5830 model that is only $20 cheaper. I stand by what I said I want to go dual card as cheap as possible right now and get my foot in the new tech door. The 5770 just isnt my thing I dont like that card. However 2 5830's would perform well Their not too expensive and would be the perfect stop gap until later this year when I spring for a 5970 which will later be joined by another 5970, though I may just get both at the same time.
     
  16. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    The card looks nice. And great idle temps. Thanks for the review :toast:
     
  17. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Not to start anything, but I was not implying you get only 1 5850, nor did I mean to imply you get this card; however, simple fact is your 4890 does out perform the 5830 buy a few percentage points. Link below.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/HD_5830_Twin_Frozr_II/29.html

    And it is not just this one. All of them are $250ish in price and that is $30 too much IMO.

    I am not knocking you for liking the card, I liked it as well but it disappointed me. I also don't think it is a smart thing to buy 2 graphics cards that you have already planned to replace in a few months with a product you can get now. For the price of 2 of these you can just get the first 5970 which will be about the same performance and just get the other later this year.
     
  18. Crazyhorse New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Its alot more fun having a 5870 Bios on it. Unfortunately it doesn't change the rops or shader units. However its quiet fun though it pumped up the 3DMark Vantage Score Xtreme by 1000 points when set to stock HD 5830 speeds which is amazing. I m not sure what does it but it does.
    I have 2 of these cards 1 will do it just fine the other one will flash too but will blank out. However I m testing 900mhz core /1200mhz Bios right now and scored with a test system of a B55 x4 3.2ghz 2gb ram old 160gb HD an easy P13178 Performance Score not Xtreme can't test it right now because of the limited monitor size on the test setup.

    I m curious though, why did the rops or shader units not change when using the 5870 bios ?
     
  19. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    It is not a software limitation. Those ROPS/shader sectors are physically disabled. Usually laser cut the connections for those blocks in production. There is no way to undo that.
     
  20. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    so if it uses less power why in the charts under load use 12w more than the stock card ? , thats more is it not ?
     
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Not, because the card isn't idling when running the benchmarks.
     
  22. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    so it should say low power draw when idle , only time i see it using less power is at idle and while playing blu-ray . all other times it uses more ;)
     
  23. Crazyhorse New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    I see your point and then i don't. I took the cooler of cleared the thermal grease up and compared the chip with a regular chip of a 5870. Looks exactly the same, no laser cuts of any kind I could see.

    If the chip was done this way on purpose without any chance of messing with it, why in the world would it need to be on a 5870 PCB and not on a 5850 or even a new one. There has to be some sort of magic to get something going. I just refuse to believe that is it. The sad thing is you can't find anything about those cards useful anyway on any message board. It seems people are so shocked by the price preformance that they don't even try.

    There used to be smart people on forums who figured stuff out like that came up with modified bioses ect...
    I really wonder what is going on with that card. There might be nothing but a chip to chip comparison shows the exact same chips layout and chip then on a 5870 without any cuts. I might be chasing a ghost here but you never know until you have used all your options.
     
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    did you look at the bottom of the gpu before you came up with your "magic" idea?

    also read up on electrically programmable fuses
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page