1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI HD6850 OC edition black screen in games

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by isajlovic, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    hello people I'm from Serbia and I will forward to apologize for bad English
    I have a terrible problem with MSI 6850 OC graphics card
    in many games blocked and the black screen so I have to restart my computer
    if anyone has a similar problem and can fix it
    card is more stable when she put down the speed VRAM 1100MHz to 1000MHz
    but then sometimes blocks
  2. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    First filled up your System Specs cpu , ram , psu , etc... than we may better help you out;)
  3. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    System specifications:
    CPU - Intel E5400 @2700MHz OC 4000MHz
    RMA - Kingston 3 x 1GB 800MHz
    Motherboard - MSI P43 Neo-F
    Power Supoly 630W AXP
    GPU - MSI 6850OC
    HDD - Hitachi 320GB
    OS Windows 7 Home Premium x64
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  4. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    if anyone has any idea how can I solve this problem
    I have listed above

    Thanks in advance
  5. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    That Power Supply looks really suspicious....

    The M.B.T.F. (rated at 70%) suggest that it is over-rated.
    Whats worst is its working temperature is only up to 40C, and the +12V output is very low for a 630 PSU.
    All this is evidence that this is essentially a horribly over-rated 450W PSU. (70% of 630W is actually 441W...)
    [​IMG]

    It is likely that you overloaded one of the two +12V rails and cause the card to crash.
    That is assuming that the card itself is not faulty.
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  6. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    hopefully that operation temperature is for the temperature of the environment, not the internal temps.

    that's a fairly high overclock on the e5400, try lowering that a bit.
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The thing is, how on earth is 70C ambient for storage possible?

    Anyways, we really need more information to be sure.
    Did the only card crash or did the whole system crashed is the point of interest.
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    perhaps in a car or something who knows.

    as far as power goes.. according to this calculator your PSU is more than enough. http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine with it recommending only 424w. your rails should be plenty for that card too

    what are the temperatures of the card like at load?
  9. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    Does your games turns into black screen after few seconds or you can actually play a game and then it happens?
    What games do you play? Are these GPU intensive or older ones crashes too?

    Also try some 3D benchmark that is not full screen, like ati tool.

    To lower your card's power consumption, you can put power slider in CCC to -10 or -20 and then try to play game, see what happens.
  10. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    That is exactly why i ask for System Specs as i fear that is PSU may not be powerfull enough for the 6850 which AMD recommended a 600w min.

    Anyhow 21a on single 12v rails PSU is really not enough for HDD , Fans , Graphics card , etc...

    Second thing i thought was probably the graphic card but i am leaning more for the PSU...

    Can you test your 6850 in another PC?


    Do NOT use AtiTool (last update 2006) to old for newer cards test with Furmark... http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  11. meran New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    469 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    wtf is wrong with his powersupply i have an generic 400watt power that have been running 8800gt for ages i even tried running it with q6600 but got problems when i oced it that;s it

    1st lower your overclock or disable it
    2nd disable any overclocking
    3check for black screen
    4 if it didnt happen see how much u can oc without black screens
  12. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    I didn't think about how old it is. But my point was to not stress GPU too much or do it slowly. I don't know if with Furmark it is possible.
    That Graphics card consumes 12A from 12V rail. It should be ok, but there is something fishy about that PSU like Zubasa said. Output rated 70% of 630W, but not written Max current of 12V that can be safely used. BTW total Wattage V*A is 755W, so even more it seems overrated or they should have lowered the numbers, so it really was 630W when calculated:shadedshu.

    Have you overclocked your core too, or just Memory?
  13. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    my friend has the same PSU and have the same graphics just SAPPHIRE
    he does not have this problem
    and for me is the same when the CPU is overclocked and when the default setting
    graphic is stable when its descent speed VRAM but it happens sometimes to block

    for example playing a game on graphics defoltnim values
    and play and suddenly appears a black screen
    and out of the monitor to no signal
    sound is heard for 10 seconds and then blocked
    and then must restart the system

    I hope you understand me
    because I do not know English well
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  14. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25



    Say what? 600w min psu for a 6850? you do realize that is completely off!? Recommended psu for 6950 (and 6950 > 6850) is 450w psu so I don't know where you're getting your info from
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,552 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    the EASIEST way to find out if the card is faulty which im supised hasnt been mentioned yet is TEST THE CARD IN YOUR FRIENDS PC - If its the same card it will most likely not require a driver re-install on your friends PC - so just take his out, plug yours in and see if the issues still occur. If they still do then it means its the card thats faulty
  16. otaku_ex

    otaku_ex New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no surprise coming from MSI, but I've been reading in amd forum that sapphire 6850 is having harmonic distortion. Someone upgraded to a hx850 and the problem disappeared. Maybe 6800 series cards are not that efficient.
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,552 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    'Harmonic distortion' and 'blocked/Black screen' are both different problems. all together. the OP has a black screen issue. not coil whine
  18. otaku_ex

    otaku_ex New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had that issue too in x1950 long ago, but I think it was incompatibilty with my asus board. I know they are different poblems. I was just talking about another issue in 6800 series cards.
  19. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    and after all that you gave me and suggested I tried the problem remained the same
    I even tried other brands flash bios and even bios 6870
    and again the same problem
    if there is a solution???
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,552 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    well, if youve tried everything then theres nothing you can really do but return the card to the shop and exchange it for another or send it for RMA
  21. isajlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bobigny, France
    On Friday I returned the video card to the store where I bought
    I explained what the problem and sent her to the service
    I hope that we will replace it for a new
    but I wonder what to do if I return the same under the pretext that the correct
    and the problem remains the same?
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,552 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    well, most retailers usually test faulty hardware out on their own test systems before they send it back to the manufacturer for repair/replacement.

    Im guessing youre shop will do the same. Or you might be getting a phone call to come and pick the card up within the next few days because they cant find anything wrong with it.

    If there its something wrong with the card then they will send it back to the manufacturer and it can take anywhere between 1 to 2 months to get the card back depending on MSI's turn around time (every manufacturer is different) I have RMAd through sapphire TWICE and both times they took around 1 month.

    You shouldnt be having the same problem with the returned card. if the problem still occurs then the problem could be that the card is incompatible with your P43 motherboard or a memory issue -- but dont quote me on it though.



    ----


    Also make sure you are running the latest bios for your motherboard. that might fix problems with incompatibility
  23. Luxunofwu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page