1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Msi n460 gtx hawk

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by misha1969, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. misha1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    I was flashing my Bios when my pc went down. I hafe contactet MSI tech. and they send me the original bios and tool to do the flash i DOS.

    When iam trying to run the nvflash.exe in DOS it fail with theese word: NO Nvidia displays adapters found.

    I downloaded another nvflash.exe from overclockers forum and that work i bios. It found the card but in dos but my Afterburner show me another "card".

    Before flashing in dos, afterburner in mainscreen, say to me it was MSI N460 GTX HAWK i hafe, but now its tell my another thing--> Geforce 460 GTX and It's also the same under settings -> General -> Mater graphics processor selection-> GPU1:GEforce GTX460 .....

    I mean it should be MSI N460 GTX HAWK instead ?? Can anyone tell me whats' wrong ? Is it the new nvflash.exe file there doing it?? The new nvflash.exe file is a little bit bigger .... old file 288.108 /new file 304.552

    How can i change the Nvidia geforce 460 gtx back to MSI N460 GTX HAWK??

    best regards
    Jacob
     
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Firstly, a couple of things.....

    Are all the reference GPU and memory speeds the same now as they were prior to the flash?

    You can dump the Bios and amend it in Nibitor to reflash but i would probably suggest that you reflash the card with the Bios MSI sent you, either in Windows using........

    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1824/NVFlash 5.95.0.1 for Windows.html

    Or in DOS with..................

    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1825/NVFlash 5.95.01.html

    Nibitor can be downloaded here, you can then look at and amend current Bios..............

    http://www.mvktech.net/component/option,com_remository/Itemid,26/func,fileinfo/id,3228/
     
  3. misha1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    I really don't know but running the card not with 780mhz out of the box ?? please look af my screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    it seems that MSi have sent you the wrong Bios, in that case you have a couple of choices.....

    1. Amend the current Bios with Nibitor to reflect your cards specs and flash back, all links I have provided above.
    2. Approach MSI for the CORRECT Bios
    3. Try and get hold of someone (we have a couple of members here with your card) and ask them to upload their Bios to this thread.

    Edit:

    here is a good place to start if you want to track down a bios from a member here........

    TPU's GTX460 Club
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2010
  5. misha1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Nibitor say device unsupported .... device id:0E22

    MSI say's I hafe the correct bios

    I Try to find someone inhere to UL the bios
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    If they have sent you a bios with a GPU speed of 720mhz when the Hawk edition is 780mhz they need to be enlightened on their own products!

    device id 0E22 that they have sent you is actually the 768mb version on a lower overclocked model.................

    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/78004/MSI.GTX460.768.100628.html
     
  7. misha1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    just what i throght .... i hafe also send the screenshot to MSI us .... Now I can only wait to tomorrow and see what they do then....

    Or mayby if I lucky, another member will send it to me ...that could be very nice ;-)
     
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Link might be playing up, go to the MVKtech site > downloads > Nvidia > Bios files > MSI > page 9 you will see the 460 Hawk (HK).
     
  10. misha1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    well i dont see much
     

    Attached Files:

  11. misha1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    see the bios end of .01 and my ending on .00............ i will try it now.... be back soon
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
  13. misha1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    okey....see new screenshot. It was taken with techpower gpu-z 0.4.6....

    It seems to be all right now with all information :roll:

    Iam just so happy...

    I can't say thanks enough to you for the help you gife me
    Thank you very very much for the help
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    No problem, glad it's worked out for you.......you can thank me by clicking the "Thanks" button bottom right of a post :D

    maybe you can see the value of this community and stick around for a while! :toast:
     
    misha1969 says thanks.
  15. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Here you go...
     

    Attached Files:

    Tatty_One says thanks.
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    He has done it already but thanks.
     
  17. misha1969 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark

    thx for quick replay but already flash it as Tatty_one say's :nutkick:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page