1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Problems

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by scuba_steve70, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. scuba_steve70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My computer will freeze at the screen that says platnium. It is the first screen that comes up when booting.When I hit the reset button it will boot normal. It only happens a few times 2 time in 3 weeks.
    I have run memtest on the memory. 23 passes and no errors. I have reinstalled drivers twice and installed windows xp 2 times.
    What will cause the computer to freezes at this screen?
    Will flashing the BIOS help or updating the drivers help?
    Is it better to use the drivers from MSI website or NVIDIA website?

    Thank you

    steve


    MSI K8N Neo Platinum
    AMD 64 3000
    Sapphire 9550 256 MB
    Corsair value select CAS2.5 512 x 2
    SATA 200 gig seagate harddrive
    400 watt thermaltake power supply
    Windows xp media center
    Plextor 712 DVD burner
    sony floppy
     
  2. ReconCX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    401 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    reflash the BIOS, make sure everything is configured correctly. It may be your PSU
     
  3. nightelf84 Guest

    Is your BIOS up-to-date? Updating your BIOS might help. If it is up-to-date, reflash it. Your PSU's more than enough to power your hardware. Check the voltages on your +12v, +5v and +3.3v rails to make sure they are within +/-5% to eliminate possible PSU problem.

    Is your system overclocked? If it is, try lowering any overclocked settings or just set all to fail-safe. You could also increase voltage to compensate for the 'instability' if you want to.
     
  4. scuba_steve70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When I turn the computer on it stops at the MSI Platinum screen.
    When I hit the reset button the computer reboots into windows. (Most of the times)
    I am not over clocking.
    I have loaded the defaults in the BIOS.
    I have flashed the BIOS, updated all motherboard drivers, and video drivers.
    I have run memtest 23 passes and no errors.
    I have a thermaltake power supply 400 watts.
    There are no beeps codes at post. The case didn't come with a speaker.
    I have installed windows xp media center twice. Both times were clean installs
    Could this just be an unresolved Bios issue or a bad board?
    The computer runs great except for the startup problem.
    Any suggestion would be helpful.

    12 volt rail = 12.14
    3.3 volt = 3.26
    5 volt = 5
    vcore 1.5 = 1.48 - 1.52

    Temps:

    cpu = 38 - 41c
    case =21c
    All the rails are within the limits.
    CPU fan spinning at 3258

    Here is a complete rundown of system specs

    Thermaltake tsunami with 400-watt thermaltake power supply
    K8N Neo Platinum MSI Motherboard
    SAPHIRE9550 256MB catalyst 4.11
    AMD 64 3000
    DDR Corsair 512MB X 2 pc 3200 value select memory 2.5,3,3,6
    HD 200GB SEAGATE SATA
    DVD+/-RW PLEXTORPX-712A
    SAMSUNG FLOPPY DRIVE
    Windows xp media center
     
  5. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I would also say flash the bios.
     
  6. scuba_steve70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have already done that .
     
  7. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    bad board
     
  8. C&C Freak 2K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    205 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Applegate, CA
    Cases don't ship with speakers. Motherboards do. After all, its the motherboards that generate the codes, not the case, right?
     
  9. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Most motherboards have speaker connections, to connect to a speaker in a case. I have heard of but never seen a mobo with built in speaker.
     
  10. scuba_steve70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I contacted MSI tech support via phone
    They said to raise the agp voltage a little (1.6)
    Tech support said with some cards like the 9600 pro the voltage needed to be raised. If that didn't help it is probably a bad board
    Has anyone had to raise the agp voltage to get stability.
    I have an abit NF7-s and I have read that abit board undervolt the vcore. Is this true with MSI boards or just this board.
     
  11. C&C Freak 2K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    205 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Applegate, CA
    That sounds about right. I can recall now that some cards had voltage issues. But that's all I can remember. Yay.
     
  12. joyandsorrow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    florida
    lmao most new boards do... myne does 0.o
     
  13. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ive never seen a new motherboard with a speaker, though my old Pentium II 400 mhz motherboard has an intergrated speaker.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page