1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III flashing

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by EvilAres, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. EvilAres New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everybody,

    I have try to flash my card to unlock the shader and it seems that it is not working for me.
    1 : I have tried with this bios
    http://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/msi_r6950_twin_froz_iii_power_edition_unlocking,1.html
    and this one http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/96402/MSI.HD6950.2048.110324.html
    ==> only oc limit has been changed

    2 : i have tried the script of W1zzard http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2137760&postcount=381
    ==> no change

    3 : I have tried with RBE method ==> BOSD

    I have always flash with atiflash, my card is it really impossible to unlock or i have missed something ?
  2. tallyhoe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I can't unlock my shaders either. It seems that some may have been laser cut. When was your card manufactured? Check the serial: [​IMG]
  3. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    This tutorial is what I used to unlock my 6950 TFII. Follow the instructions to the letter. If it doesn't work, there's a good chance your card won't unlock.
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,528 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    891
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    If you have a rather new TwinFrozr III, forget it. They don't unlock. But still, they are seriously quick and silent cards.
  5. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    This is true. The newer, laser-cut cards will not unlock shaders, but flashing the BIOS in the aforementioned manner will still increase overclocking headroom. This can be very useful, considering the ridiculously low headroom given with the stock BIOS.
  6. EvilAres New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @ tallyhoe : my serial number is 02SB1107001073, so it was manufactured in july. That mean that my card is definitely lockable.

    Anyway RejZoR and blu3flannel are right this card is still a serious card even without the shader of the 6970.

    Thanks to all
  7. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have managed to do one of my cards which is the same make model you are on about. MSI Twin Frozr III 6950 2GB. I purchased two the same. The other one will not flash
  8. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was thinking of selling the locked card and keeping the unlocked one.
  9. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its not that easy finding unlockable cards period. Not now anyway. I have purchased 4 cards so far to find one! I purchased an XFX 6950 2GB, VTX3D and and two MSI 6950 Twin Frozr's. So I have the VTX3d 6950 2GB that won't unlock, an XFX and one MSI Twin Frozr III!
  10. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,136 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,768
    Location:
    04578
    i would have to say the OP is just unlucky,

    I know a forum member here Exodusprime1337 bought 2x MSI Twin Frozr III PE/OC cards and both unlocked to 6970s and both overclocked to over 1000 core with the same bios listed above, its luck of the draw 6950 is a lower binned part for a reason some ARE defective some are 6970s that needed to be put into 6950s to meet manufacturering goals etc.
    exodusprime1337 says thanks.
  12. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you want me to take a picture of the card sn etc on the back??? We should make a better table of cards the MFG date serial number make model etc so we can work out what cards can be done and what cannot is there any pattern to cards that can be unlocked and those that can't.

    The build quality of MSI cards is fantastic.
  13. tallyhoe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Let's do it!
  14. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    The "Edit" button is a useful tool.


    If you want to maintain it, it would be a great idea for those who want to determine whether or not their card unlocks.
  15. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MSI 6950 2GB Twin Fozr III unlocked

    [​IMG]

    This is the card I have successfully unlocked. Sorry about the pic poor lighting lol!
  16. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thats a label off an MSI Motherboard. I don't think the label on the graphics card is quite the same where date is concerned, although I could be wrong.
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,528 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    891
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    The label says it was made in July 2011. Which makes sense. Look at the 4 digits after the letter "B" in the 3rd segment of the serial number. 1107 which translates into 2011 and 07 as July, the 7th month of the year :p
  18. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    Not completely true. I"m not trying to be rude but it's misleading to say they will not unlock. I personally have bought 6 of these very same cards in the last 2 weeks and have unlocked 100% of them. Some of them are laser cut yes, but others and probably many others are not laser cut.
  19. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't understand, I purchased two of these cards to run in crossfireX but the second card which has the same date stamp 1107 in the SN. Will not unlock. Strange, it seems that some will and some won't. I think that it has to do with how the GPU chips are fabricated before they are heated onto the board as they are BGA?! I would think.

    AMD obviously manufacture these in Tiawan or wherever.

    What should I do would I get good performance from one unlocked 6950 and one thats not or will they both run at the speed of the slowest card?

    What should I do guys?! Will the unlocked card run a 6970 bios or would you not recommend it?
  20. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    The main reason it doesnt work is because it's most likely been laser cut. The chip revision date and the card date are not related the chip could be a new version and the card a new version. But the card can also be new while the chip is older version
  21. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    How can I be getting this message. What is this all about lol

    I got this game yesterday, damn I've been missing out! lol
  22. Den Sorte Los New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just bought the card, and the serial number says 1109, so pretty new. I have managed to unlock this using the BIOS supplied by MSI and using the script from the article.

    Trying to OC it at the moment and running it as we speak at 925/1375 with 1220 mV
  23. Ginnoskie

    Ginnoskie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    92 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Davao City, Phillippines
    My Asus Direct CU II 6950 flashed to 6970 and still running stable without any issues..but i really like the overclocking of MSI Twin frozer III OC/PE. i really love MSI.
  24. NCoastTweaker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Northeast Ohio
    I tried flashing my TFIII but shaders did not change.

    I tried flashing it too.. GPUZ (ver 0.5.6) did not show any shader count increase..

    Tried bystanders method of modding the exising bios, and also tried the MSI r6950pex.bin bios. I did notice that CCC default gpu and mem settings are higher now.

    I have a question for you TFIII owners...

    Bystanders instructions say to flip the bios switch to the 1 position.. (towards the back of
    the card) I hate to sound stupid, but can someone please clarify the correct position of the
    BIOS / fan profile switch.

    - I am holding the card vertically with crossfire fingers and power connectors facing up and the fans and shroud facing towards me. The VGA/HDMI/DVI-D connectors are to my left and the DIP switch is approx 1.25 inches to the left of the power connectors.. The BIOS dip switch has "performance" labeled to the left side on the pcb, and silence on the right side of the dip switch.

    The BIOS switch is currently set to Performance (toward the VGA connector side of the card. Bystanders instructions say to set the switch towards the 'BACK' of the card..
    But on my card that would be the 'silence' setting.

    When I performed the flash, I left the switch on the 'performance' setting. (I thought the silence setting only to be used to recover the card if the flash renders it inoperable.)

    I left the switch in the Performance setting.. see pic
    Can someone who has successfully done this to an MSI TFIII please confirm that I have the
    switch set correctly for the flash?

    Attached Files:

  25. Den Sorte Los New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi,

    I didn't change the bios switch at all, since I figured the "silent" setting must be the backup BIOS. So I basically plugged in the card without changing anything after pulling it out from the box and ran the script to flash after changing the BIOS to the one provided by MSI.

    Here is a link to a zip file containing all the things I used. After unzipping just run the "flash_to_6970.bat" as administrator and reboot. Check with GPU-Z.exe which is supplied in the zip-file as well if you have gained some more sharders. I have 1536.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5584259/HD_6950_to_HD_6970_mod.zip

    Kind regards,
    Den Sorte Los.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page