1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III PE/OC

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by rustyhandle, May 7, 2011.

  1. rustyhandle New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 940 Processor. 3.0GHz
    Memory: CZ Reaper HPC 8GB (4 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 .
    Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 500 GB 7200rpm 32MB
    Video Card: SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 1 GB
    Monitor: 22" Dell
    Sound Card: Speakers (Logitech G35 Headset)
    Speakers/Headphones: Logitech G35
    Keyboard: Logitech G15
    Mouse: Razer DeathAdder 3.5G 3500dpi
    Mouse Surface: Razer Vespula dual sided control & Speed
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.100226-1909)
    Motherboard: Asus M4A785-M ( BIOS 0906)
    Computer Case: Antec 300
    saitek x52 flight control system
    power supply pc power cooling Silencer 500 watt ultra quiet

    my system is not over clocked and will not be over clocked in the future

    i want to know if or any upgrades are needed to run this card

    MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III PE/OC Radeon HD 6950 2GB ...
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  3. rustyhandle New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    im only going to run 1 card
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Single 6950, recommended PSU from AMD is 500W. Single 6970 is 550W. Becuase both cards are so close in specs, but require different PSU power, it most definitely should be looked at.

    Your PSU is a relatively old product, regardless of when you purchased it, which is why it is not on that list.
  5. rustyhandle New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so what you are saying is i should buy a new psu
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure, if you plan to overclock, or would like your system to have a long life.

    I mean, OK, your PSU is one that many years ago was one of the best available. But that was like 5 years ago.


    How long have you had it for? If you say a few months, meh..no OC, should be OK. I'd personally get something newer, with a bit more overhead, for sure.

    Mind you, I'm using and Antec 1200W, with just a single card. I might tend to overdo the PSU part of my rigs, maybe.:laugh:
  7. rustyhandle New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    which psu do you recommend. my system is not over clocked and will not be over clocked in the future
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The best advice I can give is for you to take a look at the link i posted earlier. Any 500W or greater PSU from that list should do you fine.

    you could also try to send AMD a support ticket and ask them directly if your PSU is OK. Really, it should be, but at the first sign of any issues, I'd be looking it straight in the face.

    If hte 6970 was lsited as 500W as well, I wouldn't have even have posted in this thread, TBH, so that 500W minimum spec has got to be close to the breaking point.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page