1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Radeon R9 290(X) gaming/lightning card club

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by fullinfusion, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Man, wish I had the newer version just for the inverted PCI-E plugs alone. So freakin' annoying to get out.
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,860 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,941
    Just a minor mistep. Just a small screwdriver will help
     
  3. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    82 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    Wonder if PCB has some changes too. R9 290X Gaming does.

    ps What is default VDDC Offset for MSI R9 290X Gaming? MSI AB sets it to +25 mV, Sapphire Trixx to 0.
     
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Yup theirs a change on my new rma cards pcb for sure ;)

    I don't know if the bios on the card has anything to do with things, but WOW what a difference in memory overclocking!

    I'm going to flash my other older card and see how it clocks the memory.

    Edit: new bios on older card = no go period!

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2014
  5. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    82 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    Congratulations, mate. Nice boost for memory clocks. Major downside you would not be able to fit any exiting full cover block
     
  6. snowking New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all

    I have an MSI 290 Gaming 4G that I got a couple of months ago. This card has been accepted for RMA and I am due to have it replaced next week I tried overclocking the card and have a few questions about that experience:

    1) GPU-Z reported VRM temps of 37 (VRM 1) and 47 (VRM 2) at idle - is this high?

    2) The highest stable clock I could achieve was core@1087 and RAM@1325 this is with +100mV and +20% power limit - should I expect more and if I do take this in under RMA I guess I could get worse?

    3) I used Heaven to benchmark the card. FIrst I achieved stable clock on the GPU at 1087 then I started to increase Mem clock. The odd thing is the benchmark shows no difference with the Mem @ 1250 or 1325?

    4) With 1087 and 1325 my VRM temps are at 95 (VRM 1) and 76 (VRM 2), GPU temp is 86. Is this too high? Notice VRM 1 temp is lower at idle than VRM 2 but higher than VRM 2 when stressed.

    Any advice or recommendations would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  7. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,431 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    CZ
    Those are all perfectly normal.
     
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    there is a block from EK that fits these cards from what other members that follow watercooling on cards tell me.
    But really I dont need H20

    That clock setting was just based off THIS
    I have the same bios straight from the factory and just used Trixx and moved the sliders and ran it.
    Tonight im going to disable CF and see what the card can do ;)
     
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    My new MSI card with a bad fan straight out of the box.

     
  10. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    335 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    RMA time, yet again. :(
     
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    yuppers, love the card though but the fan noise is getting worse so no biggie this time.

    my supplier use @NCIX Esther for there parts so my guy said well hopefully they don't jerk us around again.

    If I knew they used them I wouldnt have bought from them and gone to trusty ME
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2014
  12. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Maybe there is something about you that fans don't like.
     
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    ^
    Maybe, but thanks for the comment
     
  14. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    335 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Thank fricks my card is still going strong after all the shite with oil leaking happened, but I havent heard anything from it since then, and the fact that my new case has better airflow it helps keep the fan speed to a minimum as well. :)
    P.S. NCIX Esther is an asian chick ;)
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  15. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Noooo :eek: The Asian persuasion kind :twitch:

    I like her, but her ncix vids got bad so I don't subscribe anymore. Same as linus, he got all stupid till just recently and now he's posting some great vids.

    I thought Id Tag NCIX for the fun of it and she popped up so whatever. Maybe she can be some sort of help because forum talk can hurt a company and we know what happens then?

    OVER priced AMD cards lol. JK but really help is always welcomed :toast:

    Yeah @neliz, he figures the new revision MIGHT use different fans MIGHT. But you know sense I've been benching the shit outta this rig today, cus it's being yanked out and My new mobo and cpu should be here on Friday.

    Z97 baby and a 4790 to boot... the fan has been good tonight, so go figure. As long as I don't lightly tap ? or a slight vibration happens the card is quiet :confused:

    I have some supper wicked scores to post but I'm only 30 points away from my show it score and I tell ya she isn't giving it up easy :shadedshu:
     
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
  17. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Man.... I'm more impressed by the 4.8Ghz on the 3770k, lol. My 4770k throws a bitch fit at 4Ghz and won't run stably for more than 24 hours.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  18. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    lol I hear ya.

    This thing does 5.1Ghz but not this time of the year with the summer heat.

    Oh well I hope the Devils canyon is a beauty to clock :rolleyes:
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  19. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Not sure if it's my mobo or I got a dud 4770. =[ No matter the voltage I get BSOD's at 4Ghz. 3.9 is fine, but that's already the boost clock. Bullshit I tell you!
     
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    I hear ya, this is what my SOLD unit does ATM @ 70c under full load. Higher then this the voltage is just stupid and dont scale very well unless I open the window in the great Canadian winter months then she stays about 80c @ 5.0GHz

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Trade? lol
     
  22. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Sorry I already have a 4790 and Hero VII on the way
     
  23. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Couln't wait for the K?
     
  24. jumpman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So I had a MSI R9 290 a couple of months ago and I started getting lines. I posted this before, but here's the refresher
    [​IMG]. This only happened when hooked up on the DisplayPort. Went through some hoops to get things replaced and now I have a XFX R9 290 DD. The same thing happens on the DP only. Anyone know what is wrong or the fix? Most likely my motherboard now, but it's weird that it's only on the DP of the GPU. This is in BIOS so don't think drivers are the issue.
     
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,509 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    What I paid for this board and cpu it didnt cost me a dime. What I sold this hardware for and what I spent = 0

    The cpu is what keeps the rig running and when the 4790K comes out I'll only be out of pocket after selling this proc is $50 at most.

    So $50 to go from Z77 to Z97? a real cheap upgrade :peace:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page