1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Radeon R9 290(X) gaming/lightning card club

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by fullinfusion, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,554 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,300
    Why do you keep going on about what card to get? 3 months ago you told me in pm you got your new r9 now I'm confused wtf
     
  2. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    I'm stuck aroud 1107 on my MSI 290. Even on water, it doesn't seem to like going over +100mv.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,146 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    No i never said i did. Im still working on it.

    I do have a nice Wallpaper with both on it though
     
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,554 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,300
    What cooler did you install?
    Have a pic? I'm curious because I thought these MSI cards wouldn't take any h20 cooler. And have you tried +70mv vs 100?
    You might be feeding it to much and she don't like it
     
  5. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    I fit a Kraken G10 and TT Water3.0. In Tomb Raider I get artifacting at around 80mv and going up to 100mv decreases it. Memory clock doesn't seem to make a difference. Tried 1250 up to 1350. Most things crash when I try and go over 1350 on memory. I recently moved my radiator placement and added another fan. GPU temps dropped 20C and VRM1 temps dropped 20C as well. I have the Gelid Icy Revision heatsink on the VRM, but had to trim it because the caps (or chokes, whatever) next to the VRM have caps on them that the refer 290 doesn't. I plan on getting a strong 90mm fan for the G10 eventually. The one it comes with pushes hardly any air. The drop was from the radiator fans moving air over the backplate. The R9 290 Gaming backplate and RAM plate work with the G10, haha. I've considered trying to cut down the stock heatsink to use on VRM1, but that would require cutting the heatpipes and the card is still in warranty...

    Post a picture when I get home.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,554 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,300
    Lopez do you have a V1 or V2 card?
    If its a V2 I have the good bios linked above a page or so back.
     
  7. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Pretty sure it's the V1, the V2 has the flipped PCI-E power slots and revised HSF, correct? I already flashed the BIOS to the one that has been on the front page for a while.
     
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,554 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,300
    Yup flipped power plugs is the V2 and there
    Is another bios not on the front page. I know it didn't work on my v1 card but who knows.. All I know is both V2's I had plus this one in my case clock like mad!
     
  9. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Yeah, I definitely have the V1. =[ I could care less about memory clocks, I just wish I could get the GPU higher because I definitely have the thermal headroom to spare! Haven't seen over 60C. VRM1 temp seems to be the limiting factor, maybe. Gets up to 88~C with 109ishMv. Before I moved things around they'd go up to 108C, without crashing, lol.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,554 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,300
    I'm out till tomorrow. I'll run some tests myself and see what I come up with.. And yeah the v1 suck for clocking for sure.. Dump it and get the better one lol... God knows I'm tempted to and probably will once it cools off.
     
  11. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Not sure an extra 50~ Mhz is worth losing money on what I already have, haha. I'd just get a 290X if that were the case.
     
  12. superbadapie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Random question, how do I know if I have a V1 or V2 card??
     
  13. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Like I said, the main difference is the PCI-E plugs are switched, so the latch is facing the PCB, instead of the heatsink. The heatsink itself is also changed a bit, I'm pretty sure there are pictures in this thread of the V2 card. We're also talking specifically about the MSI R9 290 Gaming card.
     
  14. superbadapie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok, I will have a look thanks! So you cant say by looking at the serial number? I suspect I have a V1 :(
     
  15. superbadapie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Indeed, V1... So no clocking for me then? I have the worst luck, finally get a card with a proper asic score, and now it doesn't help jack :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2014
  16. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    @fullinfusion Here's a pic of it. Hard to fit all this crap into a mid tower! IMG_3692.JPG
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  17. superbadapie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    tight fit :D
     
  18. superbadapie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So are the V1 one cards really that bad? No hope for new bios or oc with them?
     
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,554 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,300
    Any v1 card I've had don't clock worth a crap and I've had 2. But there's something with the v1 vs the v2 that I've found out in my testing.

    Clock per clock the v1 runs the same performance at lower clocks then the v2 so go figure.
     
  20. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,312 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Another useful TIM is Noctua NT-H1, does better than my Ceramique and MX4.
     
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,554 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,300
    Thanks for the info but doesn't it dry out faster? Plus from what I see it doesn't have as good of thermal transfer from what I researched when I picked out the mx4

    MX-4 Thermal conductivity 8.5 W / mK

    NT-H1 Thermal conductivity *Noctua doesn't disclose that info so go figure :confused:
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2014
  22. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    Yeah, there is one listed on the first post in this thread. It's the one I flashed to my V1 card. ASIC on mine is 79, guess it's a good thing it's on water now then.
     
  23. superbadapie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Better then the previous one you had on? That is pretty high.. Our luck sucks haha.
     
  24. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    781 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Overseas
    It's the same as stock, except it bumps the core clock up to 1007 permanently so you don't have to use MSI's little app to make the card boost to it.
     
  25. superbadapie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I do not use the msi app at all, have heard to many stories about it. Does this bios oc better? The one I currently have undervolts pretty nice, but no oc. Got it at 1000MHx and -69 mV stable.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page